Day 1, Sunday 24th July 2011

Having got Raffie to sort out the techy side of things online. I went out and checked the bike tyres and what not.

Today we cycled 4.34 miles in the sunshine. We were only on paved roads for 60% of the time, the rest was on dirt tracks. Raffie moaned about her arm hurting but then, just to make me breathe a bit harder, opted for an extra half a mile up to the river and back, on a tarmac road. We stopped about 1/2 way round for a bit of a short rest and to pick a couple of containers full of lovely wild growing raspberrys. The last half a mile home is up hill, just a slight incline but painful enough when you are as unfit as we are. I am sure that in a couple of months that we will fly up it as if its nothing.

Having set the 1st distance goal of 1000 miles, we now only have 995.66 to go. What a lovely thought that is.

Pictures below of us and our bikes. As I said before, they are freebies from our old gym,  and the best that Halfords could offer for under £120 each.

Raffie and her Apollo hybridKenn with his Apollo hybrid

As you can see, overweight and pasty looking. Pictures taken in the communial front garden this afternoon. As much as a reminder to ourselves as to how much we need to lose weight wise, as to show anyone our bikes. Raffie hates her bike with a passion and is desperate to get a new bike. It weighs about the same amount as she wants to lose.

As well as cycling today, we have had an extra walk with the dogs, being such a gorgeous day. The sun shining like today is the exception, rather than the rule in Northern Scotland, we needed to make the most of it.

Until tomorrow then

Kenn

 

Goal:                1000.
Miles to date: 4.34
Miles to go:    95.66
Max speed:    21.7 mph
Ave speed:      9.1 mph
Feelings:        Fine

Advertisements

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s