Day 2. Mon 25th July 2011

Is it true that the second day is the hardest? I think that it might be.

Today at work was pretty slow, only two customers, a trip into town to do the banking and some dull food shopping and then home. Gorgeous afternoon, but could I entice Kenn to get on his bike? Could I hell as like.

After sitting about a bit I managed to poke Kenn off the sofa to walk the dogs for 20 mins and then play with them in our enormous (shared) back garden. Perfect day for a bit of archery but the butts are not there at the moment and I don’t have the resourses to send off for a new one for us. I am looking into a dozen bales of straw though, to put up the back wall, but that’s another story altogether.

It was 7pm before cycling happened. We decided to cycle a bit of Strathfarrar, just down to a bit past the hydro dam and back is 5 miles exactly. The scenary is stunning so going slowly is not such a problem as we can birdspot, deer spot and hare spot as we go, thus going further as we forget we are actually exercising.

Kenn found getting out of the yard difficult, its uphill for the first 200 yards and on loose sort of unmade roadway before giving way to a bad tarmac job about 50 yards from the road way. Then its downhill for the next half a mile before turning off up the road that leads to the gated strath. Once through the cycle gate, there is a nice ride along, past the Red Deer (not in evidence today, they must be up the mountain) and then to a cattle/deer/sheep grid. At this point we are exactly 1.5 miles from home. We carried on past the sheep to the next grid at 2 miles from home and then to the hydro. I shouted to Kenn “another 400 yards will do it” and peddled on past the hydro and Kenn’s usual turn around spot. Cycling along a slight rise, at the point where its about to gently go down again, is the 2.5 miles from home mark. This is where I stopped today and turned around.

Kenn caught up, being some 60 yards behind. I should have stopped and waited before but I thought that I might not get going again so peddled on to the turn spot. Once there, we turned and headed home. It appears to be 0.02 miles further home than out, must be the curves in the road. Home is faster as the strath is slightly down hill all the way to the main road, then the final 1/2 mile uphill push. Not majorly uphill, you understand, but uphill enough on 39lb bikes and our unfit state. Personally I cannot wait for a lighter bike. I am saving like mad.

Once home, Kenn said what a good ride it was and how it was great once he had got into his stride so to speak. Good oh. Same again tomorrow then.

Raffie

 

Goal:                1000.
Miles to date: 9.37
Miles to go:    990.63
Max speed:    21.9 mph
Ave speed:      9.9 mph
Feelings:        A bit tired but otherwise good

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

