Day 3. Wednesday 27th July 2011

After the day we had yesterday, work wise, a day off cycling (but not walking) was declared. Kenn felt like death warmed up and I was just wiped. Today is our day off work. The sun was shining and it was brilliant.

Sadly, instead of being able to just jump on our bikes and dash off up the strath, a couple of appointments loomed in Inverness. Kenn had to go for an ultra-sound scan on his kidney. Quite a normal thing for a transplant patient to keep an eye on things. The appointment was for 10 am. I decided that instead of hanging around Raigmore hospital all morning, that I would go to the 9.30am Slimming World group in town, instead of the 6.30pm. It made planning our day way easier.

Slimming world was fun. I stayed for the meeting, helped out with the weighing as the normal lady was on her hols and a different consultant was doing the meeting and had a load of new starters. It was fun and I met a couple of other ladies who like to bike when they can. I have lost 2lbs. Most pleased. After the meeting, Kenn met up with me over a cuppa in town and then we took the opportunity to go and see the lunchtime showing of Harry Potter and take advantage of the whole Orange Wednesday thing. HP was a good movie but we might have eaten some popcorn. Just couldn’t help it cos our will power is not up to speed yet.

On the way home Kenn suggested a little peek in Tiso for some cycling shorts. He says that his sit bones ache and it makes cycling less fun. I wholeheartedly agree with that one. Aching bum and numb bits do not make for a happy ride experience. We both managed to get shorts in the bargain price department so we were most chuffed and couldn’t wait to get home for a bike ride, even on rubbish bikes.

Once home, shorts on, trainers & helmets on and we were ready to go. Off up Strathfarrar again, as its nice and quiet, normally. Not so much tonight as there seemed to be a dozen 4x4s flying up and down not giving much quarter.

This ride we went much further. We flew past the 2.5 mile place and rounded the bend with the bridge on it at 3 miles and still feeling great. Past the bothy and onwards. At 5.2 miles Kenn decided that enough was enough and we sat and had a breather. We had a Slimming World energy bar (might as well make a bit of an effort) and some water and a nice 10 minute rest. Then we carried on for another 1/4 mile so that the total distance would be more even.

Coming back up the strath is faster than going down it. We whizzed back and got up to 27 mph at one point. On £100 Halfords specials, I am not sure of the wisdom of going over about 15mph but it was fun and we were enjoying it. Kenn was having problems with tired arms and his back was aching a little too. He’s over on the forums now, asking advice about it. We so need better bikes, the sooner the better. Better work harder then so that we can afford them sooner.

Really looking forward to tomorrow now, long day at work ahead but we can probably get a quick 5 miles in come evening time.

 

Raffie

 

 

Goal:                1000.
Miles today:   11.21
Miles to date: 20.58
Miles to go:    979.42
Max speed:    27.4 mph
Ave speed:      10.4 mph
Feelings:        R: Brilliant. K Good

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

