Saturday 30th July. Bloomin’ shattered!

Yet another busy day befell us today. This is a good thing as we are self employed. Yesterday was a doozy of a day and it was our day off cycling but we would have liked to have gone out on our bikes but we were too stuffed to do much after walking the dogs. Even tea was a slingitin job, healthy but a slingitin just the same.

Maybe I should clarify the ‘day off cycling’ bit. At the moment, our aim is to cycle 2 days and then have a day off, then 2 days, day off and so on for another couple of weeks, then we will move to 3 cycle days and a day off. The aim is to cycle for 4 days then a day off after a bit. I used to run marathons by training like this and it worked a treat for me. Marathon times of about 3:17 and a few secs was the norm for me. I guess I could have been faster if I had worked a bit harder though.

Today we groomed 3 dogs in Inverness then a couple more in Dingwall, giving us a bit of time to visit the big horrible supermarket for some food for the week. Hateful place, can’t wait to have an Asda on the doorstep. Once home, dog walking took priority followed by getting some wood scrumped from the cow field, now all the cows are out of it for a couple of days. Actually the wood chopping (chainsaw job) and moving it to the car by approaching the fence and hossing the logs over until a big pile was there, then loading the car and heading back to the steading, was our warm up for cycling today.

Today we fancied a change and cycled through the steading and down the track past the occupied cow field and the empty cow field, all the way to the bottom of the hill. Huge mistake, forgotton how bumpy dirt tracks are and my wrist is killing me. Good job those bikes are hybrids, and cheap! Kenn says his back aches too. We got to the bottom, through the gate (shutting it behind us) and turned left and cycled, still along bumpy tracks, to the fishing hut where we turned and came back. Once we were at the gate, we decided to cycle up the road to get up the hill and not the track. By this time my wrist was protesting nearly as much as Kenn. 3.01 miles in all. Only took about 20 mins to whizz back and forth. Short ride today. Longer one tomorrow as we plan to cycle to the shop for the papers. Shop is about 7 miles away, so watch this space.

Instead of walking the dogs around the block to warm down, we unloaded the wood from the car and into the woodshed. We feel like we’ve had a proper workout today, even though the bike ride was short.

Off for some nice home made humus and potato wedges. All ‘free’ food on Slimming World extra easy. I am famished

R x

 

Goal:                1000.
Miles today:   3.01
Miles to date: 29.65
Miles to go:    970.35
Max speed:    27.4 mph
Ave speed:      10.7 mph
Feelings:        We felt fine, in the end.

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

