Tuesday 2nd August. Out on my own tonight

Firstly, before I blog about my bike ride. Can I just say Thank You, from the bottom of my heart, to Dolly Parton for recording 9 to 5. Its on my iPod and without it I would have never managed to cycle all the way up the hill to home. Thank you Dolly. You were my saviour tonight.

On we go then.

Tonight, I think that Kenn had the right idea pulling a sicky. Due to the 8 or 9  different drugs he takes to keep his transplanted kidney (called Jeffrey) ticking along correctly, sometimes he just feels wiped out. Its like every so often all the side effects of the drugs gang up on him and just exhaust him completely. He’s seen the doc about this and apparently, its pretty common and the medical profession call it ‘poly-pill syndrome’. Anyway, after a tough day at work ending with a deeply uncooperative Australian Shepherd, Kenn decided that enough was enough and he was going to flump on the sofa, cycling day or not. I could tell he was struggling when we gave the dogs their evening half an hours perambulate to the end of the long drive, past the sheep fields and back. Thats 2/3 mile each way or so.

I decided that I was going out on my bike. Its down in my diary as a cycling day so I am going. Before I could change my mind and join Kenn on the sofa, I got my shorts and trainers on, found my helmet and then hunted out my iPod. Then I hunted out my earphone sticky-in things. Strapped the iPod to my arm, fed the earphone cable up my tee-shirt sleeve and out of the neck area and popped them in my ears.

Happily I peddled along to the Steve Miller Band and Abracadabra, very quietly, which is all very nice and then I had a slight uphill to travel along. Happily Sisters of Mercy and Temple of Love was next. Fan-lippin’-tastic. I am sure I upped my average speed peddling along to that, this was followed by the Eurythmics, Right by your side. This is where the ride went pear shaped. There was a whole load of sheep on the private road of the Strath (closed to cars on Tuesday so safe to use my iPod). The little wooly things were everywhere. I slowed right down to about 4 mph and passed them, going uphill. Most unhelpful. I crested the hill, speeding up a bit when Gene Pitney arrived in my ears, with Something’s got a hold of my heart. More sheep and I was going down hill at less than 5mph as I thought that running a sheep over, going down hill would probably ruin my evening. I’ve only just got my wrist vaguely useable and I don’t really want to bend it again. Anyway. New helmet and its all shiney and un-marked.

Finally, I got through the herd of sheep. There must have been around 300 of them. Excellent I thought, the music changed to Classix Neuveau & Just a dream away and then to The Knack and My Sharona. I found this on a Guilty Pleasures album once. Can’t see what is so guilty pleasure about it. Its a great track. So there. It was towards the end of My Sharona when I got to the bothy set back off the main roadway. This is at around 3.75 miles from home, so I turned here as I was feeling tired and getting fed up with the midges.

Heading home, I realised that I was feeling more tired than I had previously realised. A bit of Nickelback and Photograph really didn’t lift my energy levels. Nickleback normally does. Heigh ho and then cycling back on a gentle down hill through the twisties is when the Bay City Rollers arrived with Shang-a-lang. I mused for while on the reasons that my friend Dawn calls my iPod the “cheesePod” and while I was making good time through the twisties I contemplated bumping the track on as I was horrified that I knew every word but I didn’t quite dare let go with my good left hand, anyway, I was coming up on those sheep again. I listened to the Rollers all the way thorough the sheep and then I got to listen to the first few bars of S Club 7 and Don’t stop movin’. How the hell did that get on my iPod? I’m pretty sure that I didn’t put it on. It must have been the dog.
This track I did bump on and then got the Steve Miller Band again and Dance, Dance Dance. This got me to near the end of the Strath and on to the main road with that hill ahead of me. That 2/3ds to 3/4 mile hill, a long slow drag to our main gate.

November rain started about then. No good for getting up a hill. Guns n Roses are fab but November rain is not hill climbing when shattered music. Sweet Child of Mine would have done but that’s not what I had to hand. I felt myself flagging. Bumped the track on to Poco, Keep on trying. No good either. Sorry Poco. You are a fab band, we named one of our dogs after you but you are so not for climbing. Bump. Eternal Flame, the Bangles. Do I own that? Surely not. Bump. The sainted Dolly Parton and 9 to 5. Thank God for Dolly.

Dolly Parton singing away got me past the pub, up the rest of the hill more slowly than usual but up none the less. Through the gates, down the main drive (not the long sheep field drive), slowing to about 5mph for when I hit the rough surface and off the tarmac, across to the bike shed and stop. Thank heavens. I was totally shattered and was wondering why I hadn’t turned at 2 miles and not 3 3/4. I bet my average is down. I’m blaming the sheep.

Great news today too. I got lots of tips which has swelled my new bike fund. I now have nearly 25% of the total needed for 2 Giant Defys.

Raffie

Goal:                1000.
Miles today:   7.52
Miles to date: 54.17
Miles to go:    945.83
Max speed:   23 mph
Ave speed:      11.9 mph
Feelings:        Really tired. Felt rubbish today.

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

