Saturday 6th August. Morning cycle

Today is the day that my best and longest standing friend’s daughter gets married. My friend, Debbie, and I have known each other since about 1969 or so. We started the same school on the same day. Later in the term than normal. As Kenn & I are doing the photos for our Kirsty’s wedding, there is no way that we are going to be cycling in the evening and we have been looking forward to the Marriott’s Way track again.

Now bearing in mind that we really didn’t do much in the way of sleep the night before last, and drove 600 miles or so too, add to that a 10 mile cycle in our fat and unfit state, we were suprised to be up and bouncing about at 7am. We looked out of the window, eagerly and it was drizzling and grey. Heigh ho. We have our new cycle waterproofs from Lidl. We put them on, got in the car and drove to the Go Outdoors store that we parked at yesterday. We got on the bikes and took the same route as yesterday, splashing through the puddles, slipping on the mud and generally having a great time. We tried to find the cycle path that avoided the nettles on the way out, failed utterly, we found what we thought was the right path but it led us back to the prickles but never mind. We clocked the right turning for homewards as we passed it and made a mental note to take it on the way back.

When we got to the turning point from yesterday, we crossed the road for the extra 1/4 mile to save us doing laps of the car park once back. Horrible, horrible, horrible! Did I mention it was horrible? Shingle and uphill. It probably wouldn’t have been so bad if both of us had known the terrain and hadn’t fluffed our gears accordingly. We did get up without stopping. It wasn’t pretty but we got up to the top, looked at the bike computer and turned and went back down. Maybe a bit further tomorrow, maybe not as far and a second cycle in Staffordshire. Not decided yet.

Once turned, the cycle back was quiet and nice. We saw a couple of other cyclists, a walker and a few runners. We also know that we were cycling more slowly today, it was nice in the drizzle, we were enjoying ourselves and didn’t hurry, we just peddalled along making the most of the the bike time we had. We must have looked a fright though! Covered in mud, the Lidl rain jackets had more then done their job, our trainers were soaked and have now been cleaned in the hotel bath (then we scrubbed the bath out). Socks washed out too. We are praying that the rain holds off as we have discovered that the only coat like garments we have packed are our cycling jackets. They are about to be buffed clean, just in case.

Again, we felt great. Kenn actually made the comment, on our way up the cycle path after the first mile had been covered “Due to the wedding we have to get this 10 miles done before breakfast” and I am wondering if he has been bitten by the cycling bug. It seems to me that Kenn no longer sees this as a means to get fitter but as a hobby that he is starting to enjoy. This, to me, is a great thing. It was Kenn who suggested 2 shorter rides tomorrow. Fine by me.

Goal:                1000.
Miles today:   10
Miles to date: 79.59
Miles to go:    920.41
Max speed:  16.1
Ave speed:      10.06 mph
Feelings:       Brilliant, again.

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

