Sunday 7th August. Another morning cycle

Having partied the night away at our Kirsty & Matt’s wedding and tumbled into bed on the wrong side of midnight, we up up and suprisingly chipper at about 6.15am. Having had a cup of tea and discussed the fact that we had 3 + hours until checkout, we grabbed our cycle shorts and trainers and decided for one last cycle up the Marriott’s way path, just for 5 miles or so, before loading the car and going to hunt some breakfast. It is 2.6 miles from where we park the car to the end of the tarmac on the first part of the ride and that is as far as we decided to go this morning. We have a second ride planned later today when we arrive at Staffordshire, to iron the kinks out of our legs after 4 hours in a car. I have to say, that I did feel a little more tired today than I have over the last 2 days. Kenn didn’t seem to notice that we’d been partying and had only had 6 hours sleep. He was way ahead of me the whole way. I reckon it was the new gloves, speeding him up. Either that or he has discovered reserves of stamina that I can now only dream about.

The path was even quieter than yesterday morning, mind you it was 7.30 in the morning by the time we’d arrived and unloaded the bikes. We saw 2 joggers locked in planet iPod and a couple walking on the way out. We saw the same couple walking on our way back and another jogger who moved out of the way for Kenn and then swerved to be right in front of me. The squeal of my brakes and my yell of “move you silly bugger” did jerk him out of his requirement for the entire path. It appeared that when Kenn dinged his bell, he glanced and spotted Kenn but totally missed me a massive 5 yards behind. I reckon that bloke drives a Beemer or similar. I missed hitting him, and more importantly, didn’t fall off so all is well.

Today is technically our day off for cycling but yesterday, we did try to eat healthily with the wedding food, but there might have been some chocolate cheesecake involved. Having been very good food wise for weeks, it was a temptation too far. As one of my fellow table mates observed about chocolate cheesecake at a wedding, it would be rude not to partake. There may have been some twiglets that found their way on to my plate in the evening too, hence the morning ride.

We have everything crossed that we are going to get to ride later.

Raffie

Goal:                1000.
Miles today:   5.2
Miles to date: 84.79
Miles to go:    915.21
Max speed:  Didn’t look
Ave speed:      Didn’t look but we were out for 26 mins
Feelings:       Good.

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

