Tuesday 9th August. Cycing in Uttoxeter

We do get about it seems.

We didn’t get our second cycle on Sunday as we were just shattered. Once we arrived in Stoke on Trent, it did nothing but rain. As we were camping in the back of our big 4 x 4 – it has a nice soft mattress in it and storage for camping purposes – we were concerned about getting warm and dry again. We don’t have shower facilities in the jeep. We decided not to cycle again but to have an early night. Monday, work wise was so hectic that there was no way that cycling was happening. We started at 7am and finished at 7.30pm.

Happily this morning, we woke at 6am to a lovely bright sunny morning. Sorted out the back of the jeep and headed, just up the road from where we had camped, to a layby opposite the Racecourse Pub on the A50 at Uttoxeter. We know the cycle path there as we have walked it a few times when geocaching. We decided that about 10 miles should do the do and set off down the cycle track.

That first mile was rough on us. There is a small climb about 200 yards in and we were not nearly warmed up enough. Our fault that. That took us off the path onto a quiet road with a few hills and roundabouts the 5 miles into Sudbury along the National Cycle Route number 549, We turned after 5 miles and headed back. We have a long day ahead of us at work and then we are looking forward to driving home to the Highlands at 6pm tonight.

I soon tired of the traffic noise, I’d forgotten how noisy the Midlands are after the quiet of the Highlands, and the quiet of the Norwich Cyclepath – National Cycle route number 1 I believe. The roar of the trucks along the A50 never left our ears, there was little in the way of wildlife, although we did see a buzzard, along the path and it was simply just not as nice as cycling in the Highlands. We have been spoiled for life now.

We had great fun down a couple of hills, getting up to a top speed of 29.1mph on our very tatty mountain bike shaped objects. Getting back up them on our bikes weighing in at 39lbs each was not such fun but we did and without going into a really low gear to do it which is heartening. Kenn was shattered though, he found the uphill on the first mile had drained him and he never really found his rhythmn again. I did suggest another mile each way after the junction for our car but Kenn had had enough. I could have gone alone but I could hear my porridge calling me and I was starving. 10 miles was enough before breakfast today.

The plan is to cycle tomorrow, but probably only 5 miles or so, to get our legs turning. Normal cycling resumes on thursday. Once we get home, Kenn is going to ring that man about his Specialized Tricross sport that he’s selling and make him an offer. I am going to ask to try a test ride on that Bianchi in Dingwall. I might see about sorting a testride on a Giant Defy 3 as well, although on the Highland bike’s website, there don’t appear to be any.

Off to work then.

Goal:                1000.
Miles today:   10.25
Miles to date: 95.04
Miles to go:    904.96
Max speed:  29.1 (!!)
Ave speed:      11.7
Feelings:       Raffie – Good. Kenn – Not bad but that first mile spoiled the ride.

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

