Friday 12th August. First 100 miles done.

After Tuesday’s ride, we felt sure that riding on Thursday would be a breeze. Sadly, we didn’t count on the after effects from all that driving. After getting home and falling into bed on Wednesday morning at 3.30am, having driven 435 miles in 9 hours, with 1 big stop and 2 small stops, we knew that we would be too tired to cycle Wednesday night after work. In fact we didn’t finish work until 8pm and then had a 30 minute drive home. With the onset of dark and the fact that the rain was lashing it down, even the dogs didn’t want to go out and I don’t blame them.

Yesterday was a long day at work, although we were home for just after 6pm, Raffie promptly curled up on the sofa, snuggled under a duvet with a hound and shivered like a whippet. She was tucked up in bed by 10pm saying that she felt like death warmed over. It was Raffie that took the “I don’t care that its a cycling day today, I feel like hell and am not going” decision. She said that she regretted not cycling last night when she woke, feeling better, this morning. She looked ill though, and very tired.

Today was a glorious morning, it was really sunny and lovely until lunch time and then it clouded over. By the time we had got home and stuck some tea in the oven, it had started to spit. Our planned 12 miles or so was out of the window but we got out and did 6. We did, what we call, the ‘house ride’ which is 6 miles there and back. Out of our gate, turn left towards Cannich, turn at Struy Inn and up the Kiltarlity road, over the river bridge and turn left towards Kiltarlity, until we get to the big house with red wooden decorative bits. We turn at the passing place just past and head for home. We did discuss a bit of a longer ride but my back tyre was not feeling brilliant. Raffie had left the puncture kit in the car and I had left the pump in the kitchen. Total disorganisation today. We will do better tomorrow and even better on the Sunday paper trip.

I am not convinced that all that driving helped us any, but taking the bikes was a great idea and enabled us to get some riding in. 4 rides in total so we are pleased. We are even more pleased that we have broken the first 100 miles of our goal. That’s 10% done in less than 3 weeks so we are giving ourselves big pats on the back. Raffie is very pleased, I am just as pleased. Our next goal is going to be 50 miles in a week. Little achieveable goals and we will get to the fitness level we want to achieve in no time.

Goal:                1000.
Miles today:   6.0
Miles to date: 101.04
Miles to go:    898.96
Max speed:  Didn’t look
Ave speed:      11.7
Feelings:      Both feeling a bit tired but a good ride today.

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Separated from husband but dating a nice chap at the moment. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dog and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friday 12th August. First 100 miles done.

  1. Brian MacDonald says:

    Well done on passing the 100 mark. I’m very mpressed with your efforts. Keep it up.

Leave a Reply

