Tuesday 16th August. Up the Strath

After a mad busy day yesterday, Raffie’s shoulder was sore and stiff. We put it down to 2 and a half hours grooming a large Malamute. 2nd time we’ve done him and he was in way better condition than when we saw him 2 months ago. Seems that since Raff got all the trapped moulted hair out, the owners have made great efforts in brushing, otherwise Raff would have been there for over 4 hours. The upshot was, she didn’t want to ride yesterday. More of a case of hot and cold compresses on her right shoulder.

Today at work was quiet and we were done by lunchtime. We had planned to cycle in the afternoon but it was raining so we did other things and left the bike ride until teatime. We decided to ride up the Strath, to the bothy and back. I don’t know what was going on with our legs tonight but it was seriously hard work. Raffie said her legs felt empty and wobbly but put it down to not eating enough. My legs were not so bad, unless I was cycling uphill. By the time we got to the bothy, Raff was fed up and happy to turn for home. Its downhill most of the way so that’s good. We sped down the hill and then met up with the sheep that Raffie had dodged so valiantly last week. I dinged my bell like fury and they soon skidaddled out of the way, we did slow down for them though.

Raffie’s chain decided to jump off half way up a hill and it got seriously wedged. We managed to get it sorted out only to have it jump off and get wedged half way along ‘Dolly Hill’ on the way home. We’ll have a good look at the bike tomorrow when we have full light.

Apart from feeling tired, we didn’t do too badly, we still managed over 11mph average speed. I am hoping that we’ll be doing better on Thursday when I pick up my shiney new Giant Defy 2. Raffie says that I will love love love a road bike, she can’t wait to get hers in 2 or 3 weeks either.

Kenn

 

Goal:          1000.
Miles today:   7.69
Miles to date: 129.05
Miles to go:    870.95
Max speed:  20.69
Ave speed:      11.1
Feelings:      Tired, but it will be better tomorrow.

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

