Sunday 21st August. Paper run

Today dawned bright and sunny but the weather forecast gave out showers for today so we are still wondering whether to hang out the washing or not. It is also the first day of week 5 of cycling. We have got 4 whole weeks of cycling behind us and in that 4 weeks we have covered 171 miles, including over 50 miles last week. All in all, we are very pleased with our progress.

As Sunday seems to be the Paper Run day, we duly did the usual Cannich by the back road and back via the main road ride but today we added on an extra couple of miles and took the Tomich road rather than whizz down the hill, past the cafe to the paper shop and then back to the cafe.

Before we left, we hunted high and low for the lock keys for the bikes. We couldn’t find either set anywhere, not that it a brilliant lock by any stretch of the imagination, but I was not taking the road bike and leaving it out of sight. The way my luck has been running lately, it would get pinched so I made the decision to leave the Giant at home and take my old mountain bike. Kenn’s mountain bike is way better than mine and more comfy too. The saddle on my mtb makes my bum go numb so we need to stop every 5 miles so that I can walk about a bit and get some feeling back. The way I see it is numbness is caused by lack of blood circulation and too much of being numb could cause something to drop off. I would look very odd without a bum should it drop off. I will have to look for a new saddle for the winter.

Again today, we concentrated on cadence and spinning rather than speed. We tried to keep our pedals turning at around 80rpm, uphill, downhill and on the level (not much of that) as we took the undulating route to the paper shop. The Tomich loop is very undulating indeed. It mostly undulates in an upward direction. We had a bit of a headwind too, on the way out so not as fast as we would have liked but the views of the river, the cowfields and across the glen to the woods beyone, made up for the hills, the wind and our lack of speed. We really did mean to take a camera today. We got out the small camera, charged the battery and everything and then left it on the kitchen table. Oddly, although our average speed was down, our top speed was up, to 30mph.

Kenn is now snoring his head off on the sofa, drowning out the La Vuelta. I’ll have to turn it up.

Rx

 

Goal: 1000.
Miles today: 20.64
Miles to date: 191.86
Miles to go: 808.14
Max speed: 30.0
Ave speed: 11.6
Feelings: Great ride

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

