Friday 9th September – after a break!!

What a week and a half we have had. After officially becoming homeless on the 31st and moving in to our caravan a couple of days later – we managed to hang on until the weekend – we were so busy packing stuff for storage and packing the things we were putting in the van, we didn’t have time to cycle. The business has gone bump but we were able to pull the few dogs that we had pre booked for the following week, forward a few days. We also had a couple of phone calls to groom Once a Year dogs (matted messes that the owners feel guilty about, guilty enough to get groomed anyway, every 12 months).

We are spending this week near Helensburgh, at Kenn’s middle sister’s home. Monday, we were so shattered that we sat around all day and snoozed on and off. Tuesday the weather was atrocious, stair rod rain at 45 degrees all day. Wednesday was equally miserable and yesterday, I was all geared to go out and the pump broke so I was unable to ride on the 45psi of air in the front tyre after its repair.

Today, spare pump, the tyres got pumped to around 85 psi and that was as good as it got. I went out and cycled from Kilcreggan to Peatan and back. I was going to go to the naval base nearby but the road was in such a bad state of repair, that I thought my fillings were all going to fall out. The road was mildly undulating, a bit like the Strath we spent ages cycling along and back. It was lovely cycling along the road after a week and a half off. I had the firth on my left and could look at the bird life and the ships travelling along. On the beach, near Kilgreggan, there is a large concrete type head, painted up like a pharoah. My nephew tells me he is called Tut-tut and was painted last by the local school children.

Once I had turned, I had issues with another road user. This one was not a fan of cyclists it seems. He overtook, parping his horn, then once in front slammed his brakes on and proceeded to drive like a numpty for the next half a mile, before screeching off and turning left up the mountain. Once he was gone, I could get back to watching the birds in the firth, now on the right, and enjoying my ride.

Once back at Kilgreggan, the bike was loaded and I returned to Sue’s house. Its nice and flat (undulating really) from Kilgreggan. I have had a good look at some of the hills round abouts here and, after a week of, I didn’t fancy them much. As a Norfolk girl, I don’t really ‘do’ hills, wimp that I am.

I will try to get on my bike tomorrow, just for a few miles as Pedal for Scotland is this Sunday. Its only me cycling as Kenn has pulled a muscle, also someone needs to mind the dogs. Our young Greyhound, Danny, is not OK to leave with the In-Laws for 6 or 7 hours as he will be a bloomin’ pain and we will get excommunicated from the family after he eats the sofa, breaks into the fridge or eats next doors Yorkshire Terrier (noisy thing, we can always hope I suppose). I am really looking forward to the event, even though I have seen the weather forecast. Having been back on my bike today, I am all fired up about the event and can’t wait to ride again tomorrow.

Raffie

 

Goal: 1000.
Miles today: 10.35
Miles to date: 258.25
Miles to go: 741.75
Max speed: 22
Ave speed: Trip computer won’t record it, but about 15 mph as out 40 minutes
Feelings: Great!!.

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

