14th September – Near Doncaster

After the debacle of the weekend where illness kept me bedridden and the doctors concerned. Pedal for Scotland didn’t happen and I was not a happy bunny.

Yesterday, I managed to get out on my bike for a quick 10 miles. Kenn joined me, which is the first time that he has been on his bike since Bank Holiday Monday and the Strathfarrar puncture and long ride.

Kenn suggested turning right out of the campsite and along the road for about 2.5 miles and then turning left for a loop past a pub he used to frequent which brought us back to the original left turning. We decided that it would be too short a ride to head back then so we continued on, turning left out on to the main road. Not very main but busy for the area. We cycled out to the site of another pub, no longer there by the looks of it, and turned for home there.

Looking at the trip computer, we were bowling along at 16 – 18 mph until we turned. After that we were cycling into the wind, we thought that the going was seriously easy, our speed dropped to between 10 – 12mph and it was a slog.

I overtook Kenn as he was struggling in the head wind and then he was right behind me. After a bit I looked round and no Kenn. I thought that I would pull up and wait. Turns out that he had got a bit enthusiastic with his gear change and the chain had hopped off. We were very glad to see the road where we had turned off for the loop, it meant that we only had 10 minutes or so battling the wind.

The turning to the camp came suddenly. I was convinced we had another mile to go. Shows how good my maths is. When we got to the gate, the trip computer said 10 miles exactly. That was good enough for us after not training at all well for the last couple of weeks.

R

 

Goal: 1000.
Miles today: 10.00
Miles to date: 268.25
Miles to go: 731.75
Max speed: 18
Ave speed: 13.04
Feelings: Great.

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 14th September – Near Doncaster

  1. Pingback: Friday 16th September, solo ride « bikingtofitness

Leave a Reply

