Thursday 15th September. Ride to see the Dresses for Giant’s wives.

As the weather was glorious and without a hint of yesterday’s wind, we planned to have a longer than 10 mile ride today. We were thinking of at least 12 or 15 so long as the weather stayed nice. The weather forecast was stunning, there was not a cloud in the sky and only a light breeze. I have no idea of the roads in the area, so I left the routing to Kenn.
We left camp and started off on yesterday’s route but instead of turning after the rail crossing, we carried on for a while before turning right and heading towards half a dozen cooling towers. We used to call cooling towers ‘Dresses for Giant’s wives’ when we were children. We followed the road, continuing to head for the towers, seemingly for ages, when we got up to them, I was amazed at the size of them. Of all the times I have seen cooling towers, I have never ever been up close to them. They are massive. Giant’s wives must be bigger than I ever imagined.

After the cooling towers we came across a T junction, where we turned left, over a bridge and then eventually into a village of which I have not a clue what it was called. There was, however, a Spar shop there where Kenn went in and bought ice lollys. We sat on a nearby bench, licking and slurping companionably, watching the world go by. We saw another cyclist going by on a Giant Deft 3, it looked a bit odd with its mudguards and rack on it.

After 10 minutes or so, and having finished our treats, we got off our backsides, wimped out of that crossing and walked across and got back on our bikes and started pedalling. Kenn said that this way was longer back than the way there as we took in another village (no ice lollys there though). We both really enjoyed looking at the countryside as we cycled. We saw lots of sheep and cows. No deer though, or kites, buzzards or wild haggis. Not as nice as Scotland really, but much much flatter.

Once we were about half a mile from camp, we popped into the garage that is fixing our car for an idea of when it will be finished, the saga of which is in our other blog about our adventures in caravanning. We made good time with our 15.5 miles, despite stopping at 2 level crossings and  one set of roadworks. It was a great ride, we could have easily cycled for another 5 miles. Maybe tomorrow though, if the weather holds.

R

 

Goal: 1000.
Miles today: 15.5
Miles to date: 283.75
Miles to go:716.25
Max speed: 18
Ave speed: 13
Feelings: Great, especially the Magnum lolly.

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Separated from husband but dating a nice chap at the moment. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dog and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

