Friday 23rd September. First official commute.

Having been offered a temp job driving trucks in and around the Wroxham area, we drove the route last night to make sure that I knew where I was going. 6.9 miles door to door according to the GPSr.

I left the camp at 4.45am to make sure that I would be there for 6am. 75 minutes is plenty long enough to travel 7 miles. I got to the depot at 5.30am in plenty of time. Some of the hills on the route belie the fact that Norfolk is supposed to be flat. Raff tells me that Cambridgeshire is flat. Lincolnshire is flat and Norfolk is rolling. I think that she might be on to something. One of the hills, coming up to a pub called the Fox, is nasty as is one of the hills on a very handy cyclepath taking the cyclist all the way onto the main roundabout. After that you are on your own with cars and trucks whizzing past at breakneck speeds. I found the depot with no trouble and found somewhere to chain the bike up. So to work.

When I had finished work, Raffie was there waiting for me. She was sitting on a grass bank surfing the net on her phone.

K

When Kenn texted to tell me that he was fueling up and heading to the depot. I got my beloved Giant out and headed towards Aylsham and the depot. The hill near the fox caught me out a bit. I’ll make sure that I am travelling faster next time and then I will get up it a bit better 🙂 At Marsham I picked up the cycle path, the short, sharp hill there took my breath a bit and I was down to granny gear. Not as fit as I thought I was. The path took me to the roundabout where I was to turn right. The path was on the right hand side of the road so there I was standing there with my bike, for ages, waiting for a chance to dash across half way and there ages again waiting to cross the second half of the road. Eventually I was back on my bike and moving. I remembered that it was a couple of miles from here to the depot so got my head down and got spinning. Before I knew it, I was at the depot turning and was passing the depot. Having not had a text from Kenn I cycled down a dead end road, to see where it went. It was a dead end. No shock there then, so I turned and cycled back again. Found a grassy bank, sat down and looked about on the internet on my phone. Looking at My Tracks, I had travelled 7.13 miles at an average of 15.02mph and covered the distance in 28:28 so I was well pleased.

After waiting 10 minutes or so, Kenn came along and we headed home. It has to be said, that we went home much more slowly than I came. 6.94 miles (Kenn didn’t go up the dead end and back to see where it went) taking a total of 39.05 with an average of 10.65mph. I find riding so slowly very frustrating. Kenn has a habit of riding along and then will suddenly stop pedalling meaning I nearly crash into the back of him, so I go in front. Every so often, I stop and wait. Kenn did have a rucksack on so I’ll let him off a bit.

I felt great, Kenn didn’t but he will get used to cycling to work and back.

R x

 

Goal: 1000.
Miles today: 14.07
Miles to date: 335.34
Miles to go: 664.66
Max speed: 25.1
Ave speed: 12.83
Feelings: Tired and fed up. Raff was fine though.

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

