Monday 26th September. The Wrong Trousers!

Kenn went to work on his bike this morning, 14.07 miles there and back and he said that the last couple of miles was hard but apart from that, it was OK. He said that the stillness and chill of the morning made for a nice ride. The big lorries spoiled it a bit. Not to mention he knew that he had the same ride back again. The ride seems fine to me, but I am a bit fitter than Kenn.

I went off to the City to look for work via the Library Internet. I was later than I meant to be as it was raining. The forecast was for early rain but clearing by noon and getting warm again. At noon, it was still drizzling so I put my long cycling trousers on, and my rain coat and started cycling. Naturally, the sky cleared, the sun came out and I boiled my brains out. I took my rain top off but there was not a lot I could do about my bottom half. It was like my own personal trouser sauna in those trousers.

Again, I was surprised by the long slow drag of the A140. You would think that I would have learned by now. I was relieved to get on to the bike path with the amount of traffic about. Not too many idiots out there but there did seem to be a lot of traffic for the time of day. The fact that I was getting hot and fed up with the wrong clothes did not help much.
Coming back through rush hour traffic was not so entertaining. I had a different plan about crossing the road at the end of the cycle path though. I simply cycled down to the lights, some 150 yards down the road. Crossed with the pedestrians, got on my bike the other side and pedalled back the way I wanted go. Much better than continuing on and sticking the extra mile on.

After the Horsford roundabout, it all started to go wrong. I was going along at around 20mph and then my legs just decided that cycling was not for them today. I was watching the road signs pass me, and I was concentrating on getting from one sign to the next one. The village sign was a great sight to see, I was so pleased to see it. Only 1/4 mile to home from the village sign.

Kenn was already home and had got his shorts off and jeans on. I wandered in feeling stiff and tired. Kenn was saying that he thinks that the last bit of his ride is the worst. He says that the hills are hillier on the way home. I reckon that it is because he has been at work all day and he is more tired by the last 2 miles. Not sure that he is going to persevere with it. He won’t have much choice next week though as the car will be SORNed as we need to sort stuff out with the DVLA about taxing it. Somehow we managed to put the car stuff into storage in Scotland. We will get this sorted as fast as we can though. Although I am not in a huge hurry. I prefer my bike to the car. Not good for towing the van though 🙂

Goal: 1000.
Miles today: 15.02
Miles to date: 366.81
Miles to go: 633.19
Max speed: 22.37
Ave speed: 13.57
Feelings: Fine, the right clothes would have been a help though.

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

