Wednesday 28th September. The Horsford loop.

Yet another beautiful day today. We are having a fabulous fortnight which means that I can get some miles under my belt, even if Kenn isn’t riding at the moment.
I needed to go and get the forms from a local doctor so that I could sign on with them and I thought that with the gorgeous weather, that today would be the best day to do it. I went out of the camp gate and turned left for a change but instead of going left at the road to Horsford, I carried on a bit and turned right to have a look at the church and exhibition at Stratton Strawless instead. It was a lovely ride there. I will take Kenn up in a couple of days, with a camera as the water under the bridge, is very pretty indeed.

After I had had a look around the exhibition, I headed back the way I had come, went straight over the A140 and onto Shortthorn Road and along to the main Holt Road, turned left and headed down into Horsford village. I actually went past the doctors, you can’t see it from the side of the road that I was on. I got to the Co-op and called the docs. Got better directions. If they said that it was next to the pharmacy and virtually opposite the pub, I would have found it a bit faster.

Once I had the forms tucked away in my bag, I cycled back through the village towards Norwich, with a vague plan to have a cuppa at McDonalds but changed my mind and turned left and headed back to the A140 and home. I was feeling a bit wobbly and needed something to eat. Looking at the map, I should have gone to McDees and done with, but its easy to know that once you have looked at the map. I will know tomorrow when I take the forms back.

It was a good ride, I really enjoyed it. I was in no hurry and just pedalled along with all the time in the world.I had managed to get my little shorts on so I wasn’t overly boiling. I am getting used to carrying my back pack while cycling too. My laptop isn’t getting any lighter though. Mind you, I am not sure that I am either. Heigh ho.

R

 

Goal: 1000.
Miles today: 10.98
Miles to date: 377.79
Miles to go: 622.21
Max speed: 22.62
Ave speed: 11.52
Feelings: Nice ride, felt fine.

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

