Monday 10th October. Into the city again

Today we rode into the City, via a friend’s house so we cycled our normal route until the first set of traffic lights and then battled across the traffic to the right hand lane. Do car drivers just not see cyclists with their hand out, indicating a right turn, or do they just ignore them because a cyclist indicating just doesn’t concern them. Its like ‘that cyclist is nothing to do with me so I’ll just ignore their indication’ must be going through their brains – if they have one, that is.

Right rant over. Having turned right, which took more effort than either of us thought that it would, we then cycled through Hellesdon, over the big crossroads and onwards on to Marlpit Lane. Pretty much the way we normally go home. We didn’t head off down the Marriotts Way, this time. We went straight on, up the hill (we wimped out half way up and got off and walked!!), over the lights, doglegging through the estate to our friend’s flat. He had some post for us and we had a nice cup of tea while we were there.

On the way from Mark’s to the City, Kenn noticed an ALDI shop and thought that he would have a look in as they had recently had a cycling equipment promotion. He dived in, found a cycle rack thing for his bike and bought it. We then spent the next 30 minutes putting it on his bike. Wouldn’t you know it, 1 nut short. All the bolts were there but we were just that one nut short. Naturally Aldi were not fussed and unhelpful in the extreme, but that’s modern shops for you now. We decided to go into the city and get a nut (and a couple of spare nuts and bolts for the rack).

Finally we were in, we did all we had to do in the City and headed home, the normal route, via the cycle path, back through Hellesdon and home. I was glad to get back, I was cold and fed up in the extreme. Kenn was having a great time though.

We were suprised that we had covered nearly 22 miles today. If we had known how close we were, we would have done the extra little bit.

Non cycling day tomorrow, so big walk with the dogs instead.

R

 

Goal: 1000.
Miles today: 21.97
Miles to date: 529.31
Miles to go: 470.69
Max speed: Didn’t Look
Ave speed: Didn’t look 
Feelings: Good ride.

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

