Thursday 13th October.

I was not looking forward to the ride today. Less so when I found that my trainers were still damp and when I put my waterproof coat on, the inside of the sleeves were still wet. Yuk.

By the time we had cycled to the doctors, in Horsford, the outer of my waterproof was totally dry and the inside of the sleeves were bearable. By the time we passed the airport, the inners were dry. Trainers still a bit damp though, they were dry by the time we headed back.

Going the long way to the city made a change, we have found a faster way to the docs but we really need a mtb or hybrid to go that route, Kenn’s Sun would dislike it, my Giant would simply stop dead and die on the spot if I asked it to take that route!!

Once in town is was the usual job hunting, taking forms to the DWP, visiting Debbie and meeting up with our Mark for a coffee.

We headed home the usual (long) route and I enjoyed it a lot. Kenn not so happy. We got home dry but tired. Ken has noticeably lost weight with all this cycling, I have found my jeans to be annoyingly big. I must invest in a belt. Next ride scheduled for Saturday afternoon/evening as we want to go to an event in the city. Best get checking the lights again.

R

Goal: 1000.
Miles today: 18.35
Miles to date: 564.53
Miles to go: 435.47
Max speed: 28.7
Ave speed: 12.8
Feelings: Good ride.

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thursday 13th October.

  1. Balls of newspaper help dry shoes out (a little), wind or a fan if you have the luxury does a really good job.

  2. I think your experiences of waterproofs are exactly as mine are. I don’t wear them any longer I prefer to have wet and dry clothing, wet when on the bike, dry when in work for example. Cycling clothing does dry out quickly anyway, so sometimes the wet clothing will dry out on the ride.

Leave a Reply

