Monday 17th & Tuesday 18th October

Both Monday & Tuesday were trips into Norwich.

Monday was a much shorter trip than Tuesday as we went straight there and back. I was shattered and was glad of the shorter ride. We took my Giant into Manderin Cycles for a gear service as my chain was definitely rubbing on the guide thingy. They sorted it out quickly and charged us a mere £6 for the work. He also told us that the main crank bearings were on their way out as they were squeaking. I reckon its because we rode through a big puddle on Sunday and some muck and grit had got stuck in there. Once home, we soaked it down in WD40.

Tuesday, we went via Horsford GPs again, to drop off some stuff. My chain was rubbing again but we didn’t have time to go back to the bike shop to have it sorted out. We had an appointment which took all of the day to sort out. We went back and forth to the offices and left with an appointment to go back on Wednesday. By the time we finished faffing about, the bike shop was shut. We will go tomorrow. Obviously, I am not thrilled that having paid for a gear service that the chain is still rubbing.

Oh, that squeaking has gone now. There was a puddle of cack under the crank area with muck and grit in it. Its all smooth, quiet and lovely now.

We rode home our, now normal, route. Up the Marriotts Way, home via Hellesdon and felt very pleased with ourselves as we got home in very good time. Only just dark too. Our fitness is improving. From our first ride taking 43 minutes to get into the City, it now takes 33, home takes around 40 minutes instead of 50 mintues. We seem to now be averaging 14mph as we cycle along. We are both getting thinner as we get fitter so its all good.

Best thing of all. By the time we got to Norwich yesterday morning, we had gone through another 100 miles and we are closer to our target.

Goal: 1000.
Miles 2 days: 32.8
Miles to date: 627.26
Miles to go: 372.74
Max speed: 25.2
Ave speed: 13.98
Feelings: Pleased, we are getting there.

Advertisements

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s