Wednesday, Thursday and Friday

Its been a bit fraught this week so I have not had a whole lot of internet time. Between job hunting, going to interviews, meetings with the coucil (for housing) and the DSS, or DWP or whatever they are called this week, there has not been a massive amount of time to blog.

On Wednesday and Friday, we cycled into the city as normal. Thursday, we cycled to see our friend Mark, who has kindly donated a bike that he found (handed in to the police and then the police said that he could keep it after a month or however long the police keep handed in items for). Nice little girls mountain bike. A BSO really but it will keep me mobile over the winter on days that I really don’t want to take the Giant.

Over the past 3 rides we have covered just over 46 miles, pushing us well on the way to going over the next 100 mile point. We have covered over 2/3 of our goal now and feeling very good about ourselves.

We moved camp yesterday and are now much closer to the city centre. A mere 3.5 miles so we will have to make an effort to cycle more. From where we are now we can go and explore the Marriotts Way more, or go out to Thorpe in the East or pretty much anywhere as we are more central, which is nice. It might make us lazy though.

The place that I had an interview this week, and another next week – same place different department – runs a Cycle To Work Scheme. I might well look into getting a nice MTB or Hybrid through that. They have the scheme at Halfords. I might even be tempted by a Boardman. I can afford one over 12 months and then utilise the buyback at the end of the year. If that is still the way that they do things.

We have had an excellent week. The weather has been perfect for cycling. We have been watching wildlife as we go. There are often ponies loose on the Marriotts Way. Gypsy ponies I believe. Very friendly anyway. This week we have seen several stoats, a nice Jay, buzzards and a whole bunch of squirrels. The warm autumnal weather must be bringing them out. Its bringing out the cyclists thats for sure.

R

Goal: 1000.
Miles  days: 46.15
Miles to date: 673.41
Miles to go: 326.59
Max speed: 28.9
Ave speed: 13.68
Feelings: Still feeling good.

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

