Weds 9th (again) and Thursday 10th November

So Wednesday turned out to be a cycling day after all. I had forgotten about the Just 10 Course at my local church. 4 miles each way on my new (to me) MTB/BSO. The bike went along nicely and I stayed in the middle ring as the gear change lever is a tad stiff. This has now been WD40’d and its better now.

Kenn fitted the new bike with lights, checked the tyres just in case, and off I went with a lock and my phone in case I got a flat. I was very brave, or stupid as I had on repair kit with me, or even a pump. The repair kit, in  its little bag, wont fit on the saddle on the MTB. The seat bit is a solid item and there is nowhere to thread the straps through. Kenn is having a look at pinching a different seat of yet another bike that Mark has lying about.

It was a good ride. 4 miles each way along the Marriots Way. In the darkness of the cycle path, its not lit by streetlamps except for the first 300 yards or so, I could see small animals running about. I saw several rabbits, half a dozen or so cats and even a small Jack Russell who appeared to have no owner in sight. I did not see anyone who looked like they were walking their dog either before I met the little chap or after. I am hoping that he belonged to a nearby house and had taken himself off for a walk, rather than that he had been dumped. I will keep a look out for him again though.

The bike lights were catching the eyes of the cats and rabbits in the hedgerows and it looked very spooky, just 2 small globes of light hanging low to the ground, until I got closer and could see the outline of the animal itself.

On the way there, another cyclist – on a much nicer MTB – passed me and said “good evening”. I replied to him and then hung on to his rear light for as long as I could. The ‘winter’ bike is a lot heavier than my Giant and it takes a bit more pedalling.

On the way back, it was much darker. I left the church at around a quarter past nine and headed home. Again, rabbits and cats. No Jack Russell though. I made excellent time back. Only 20 minutes, which included getting up the hill at the end.

Thursday, was a simple ride into the City along the cycle path and back. 7 miles there and back with no incident except for the squirrel on a suicide mission across the front of our bikes. It was a bit close and we both had to pull on the old anchors to miss old Tufty.

Today, is really a ‘non cycle day’. Kenn has walked his new (to him) winter bike down to the city and has bought a new spindle and some brake blocks for it. £12 later at the LBS he is very pleased and envisages an afternoon of bike tinkering. We brought the bike with us as we are buying dog kibble from the pet shop and the 15kg sack of dog food can ride back on the bike.

Next week the mileage will be higher again. We have enjoyed this low mileage interlude though. Back to proper riding next week.

R

Goal: 1000.
Miles for these 2 days: 16
Miles to date: 853.74
Miles to go: 146.26
Max speed: 21.8
Ave speed: 12.49
Feelings: Great.

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Separated from husband but dating a nice chap at the moment. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dog and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

