Saturday 12th and Sunday 13th November

Saturday, I took the MTB BSO to a ladies day at Church. Had a wonderful time. The weather was gorgeous again and as I cycled along I was musing that I have never seen so many Jays on one ride. There are tons of them along that stretch of the Marriotts Way. I dodged the usual squirrels, fat labradors (what ever do their owners feed these dogs!), over exuberant puppies and a couple of cats. All in all, I had an excellent ride, both there and back. Kenn came to meet me from church group and we cycled home together. Me on my new winter bike, and Kenn on his. He has named his bike ‘Grod’ for some strange and unknown reason. Us girls rarely have much idea of what is going on in our menfolk’s heads.

Sunday was a little different. I got to church with no problems at all, looking at the usual wildlife and thinking there are a lot more dog walkers on a Sunday. Do I normally just miss them or are these owners who walk every Sunday as long as its not raining. I know plenty of owners like that, I must say.

Church was great, as normal. We had the 2 minute silence for Rememberance Sunday with the BBC coverage on our big screens. It was also the 2nd Birthday of our Church so there was cake as well as the usual biccies, tea, coffee, cocoa and squash after the service.

I jumped back on my bike, after the cake (chocolate and very good it was too) and got half way across the church car park and there was a big bang, like an air gun going off. It was my back tyre. We found a hole in it, that I could poke my finger through. One of our lovely Pastor’s, Chris asked his equally lovely wife, Sabrina, to give me a ride home, bike too. I got back to Mark’s house via Sabrina’s car. Kenn, in the meantime, had pedalled off to church to meet me. Once I realised this I got back on my Giant, and went after him to meet him.

We met up eventually and got organised with breaking camp and moving some 18 miles from the City Centre. Big ride tomorrow then. There and back is going to be fun!

Goal: 1000.
Miles for these days: 16.5
Miles to date: 870.24
to go: 129.76
Max speed: 21.8
Average Speed: 12.2
Feelings: Fine

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

