Wednesday 30th November – Goal Met

Yay! We did it.

After leaving here on Tuesday, we cycled the 3.5 miles back to camp, in good time, I might add.

Wednesday was a big walking day for us. Walking for well over 10 miles and we were wondering if we were going to find the time to cycle. The time did get found as Kenn forgot that we hadn’t changed the clock in the car. We pulled up at Church at, according to the car, 18:45 ready for 19:15 Just 10 meeting. Ken was getting out when I looked at my watch and said ‘oy, its only a quarter to six you know’. Kenn pointed at the clock and I pointed at our phones, my watch and was just about to grab the laptop, to make a point when he twigged.

We decided to use the time to jump on our bikes, on the bike rack on the car, and cycle up the cycle path towards Mark’s house, and back. It was pitch black up there, we have lights but they are not as wonderful as they could be, in my opinion. Bikes with amazing lights were coming towards us. One bike had such bright lights that Kenn lost his bearings and cycled into the hedge. Those lights might have been just a bit too bright.

As we were cycling along, we were debating whether we had 8.5 miles to cycle or 5.8 miles to cycle to do the 1000 mile target by the end of the month. We knew that we had already knocked off 3.6 miles, cycling to camp from Dereham but we just couldn’t remember how many more we needed to do to reach our goal. We decided to cycle until our trip computer thingy said 8.5 and that should do. As it was, we needed to do 5.8 miles to reach goal. Better to over estimate these things I think. We would have been mortified if we had been 3 miles short.

We are feeling very good about our cycling now. We have set ourselves a new goal of 4000 commuting and leisure cycling miles to be completed by 1st December 2012.

R & K

 

Goal: 1000.
Miles for these days: 8.5
Miles to date: 1002.62
Miles to go: -2.62
Max speed: 18.6
Average Speed: 12.0
Feelings: Thrilled that we have met the goal.

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wednesday 30th November – Goal Met

  1. Brian MacDonald says:

    I’ve been enjoyed reading your cycling blogs. It’s been a roller coaster few months for you both since you started this up here in the Highlands back in July. Most of your goals met too I see!!
    Well done to you both – this is an impressive achievement.

  2. sweetopiagirl says:

    Reblogged this on inspiredweightloss.

  3. 2nkenn says:

    Thank you Brian. We have set a new distance goal now. A big one too. We have really caught the cycling bug now and will keep on keeping on. Might need to invest in some warmer gloves though. xx

  4. Phyllis says:

    Just realised I hadn’t been into your cycling blog for a wee while so was chuffed to see that you’d reached – and passed – your 1000 mile target. You’ve really set yourselves a high target for next year. I wish you all the best with it and will watch with great interest. Pxx

Leave a Reply

