21st March, a quick, local cycle

Only a quickie today. Having had a bit of a lull in the nice weather, nice weather that was replaced by howling rain and chilly winds. Both of us were feeling very fat and fed up and we did have to give ourselves a mental poke to get into cycling shorts and on to our bikes. Totally worth the mental poke it was too.
We cycled from home along to Barnham Broom, to the village shop and put up a new ‘works’ poster. Then along the back road to Our Village Hall to stick another poster up at the notice board area, then very quickly home again.

I definitely need a new battery in my trip computer do-dah thingy. While piling down the main road to the Barnham Broom turning, I was definitely going faster than 4mph. I know that I was. I am off to Wymondham tomorrow, in the car sadly, and I will pop to the bike shop and see if they do trip computer batteries. We do plan a cycle tomorrow, just not to Wymondham.

Cycling today, through the sunny countryside, made us glad to be alive. Not only the gorgeous weather, the slighly rolling roads but the general beauty of where we live. Don’t get me wrong, the Highlands were stunning with their amazing beauty, but there really is no place like home. Having never thought that we would get back to Norfolk before retirement, this last 7 months have been fabulous. Now the weather is on the up (she says hopefully) we plan to be on our bikes a lot more. I have a quick 10.7 miles pencilled in for tomorrow (McDonalds and back for internet use). We are planning to cycle to Church on Sunday too, weather permitting. This time taking a less uninformed route than the last time we cycled to Church!

Interestingly, we can’t remember the last time we cycled a mere 5 miles. It must have been last summer when we still had our BSOs and were hopelessly unfit, as opposed to now when we are just unfit. We really have to get some miles under our belts, its shocking how unfit we are feeling.

Onwards then.

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

