Thursday 22nd March 2012 – Quickie to find some wi-fi

Oh my word, we are so unfit!

We cycled from home to Roundwell Retail Village, which is a massive 5.35 miles from home. Mostly uphill, or so it seems.

The first bit was a doddle as the first mile is a nice gentle downhill, which makes the last mile back home feel a little unappealing. The weather, however, was stunning which was enough to spur us on up the up bits. We had a glorious ride through the South Norfolk countryside, past a field full of wild rabbits, which seem to be out and about every day, playing about in the field, over streams and past fields and golf clubs.

Up the hill and around the corner and past Herbie Hyde’s place that still has a high police presence at the gates. The policemen definitely sniggered as we huffed up the hill in our fat, wobbly state. I heard a titter for sure, it might have been during normal police conversation but as they watched us toil up the (not very big) hill, and then we heard the titter as we passed them, I reckon that they were laughing at us. Kenn was concerned that we would be arrested for being 48 and wearing lycra but we weren’t.

Once at the free McDonalds wi-fi table, we were able to log on and sort some things out before cycling home again, mostly down hill. We flew past the policemen who were eating their lunch I think. Round the bend and on through the countryside before being greatly slowed by a tiny rise in the road. We really need to get out more as it slowed us down more than we wanted it too.

The last mile home, as predicted, was a slog. Its not as steep as Dolly Hill, which wasn’t really steep at all, its a mile long though and we are unfit (again). Kenn was struggling quite a lot as his Sun Solo is a bit of a weight, he also has a bike rack on which I have urged him to remove as we don’t need the bikes to do the shopping on any longer. Its still on but after tomorrow (Friday), when we plan to cycle the near 11 miles to Dereham and back, I confidently predict that his bike rack will be in the shed until its required again.

Until tomorrow then (which will actually be Saturday as I am blogging a day late due to not having interweb access at home).

Raffie

So far with the new challenge: 166.49

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

