Friday 23rd March 2012

Yet another gorgeous day dawned, we could get used to this, and we had the necessity to go to Dereham for an appointment. As it was such a lovely day we decided to cycle. Its only 12.5 miles by car so easily doable by bike.

On the way up the drive, we stopped to chat to one of our neighbours who said that going up the main road and to keep going was a bit mental and why didn’t we turn off to go to Barnham Broom, turn left at the end, past the shop and keep going through Mattishall and beyond. She said to trust her as its a bit shorter and much prettier. This is what we did.

She was definitely right about the shorter and prettier. We cycled through some nice Norfolk villages, up and down some slight rises past fields of sheep, folks in tractors and some breathtaking houses. Onwards into Dereham where we stopped and locked our bikes up.

After our appointment, OK, I’ll come clean, it was Knit & Natter at the library where I go for knitting tips and a cuppa with the girls, we logged on and blogged, caught up on FB and jobhunted, we got back on our bikes and headed back the way that we had come.

We stopped in Mattishall as we saw a sign for a 3′ fishtank going begging. The person who was getting rid of it was out so we wrote a quick note and popped it through her door.

Carrying on our little trip back home we realised, as you do, that the lovely big hill coming out of Barnham Broom that we had zoomed down was going to be a big hill to slog up on the way home. This was not helped by having a car up our bums who refused to flipping overtake when he had the opportunity, prefering to menace us from behind and making revving noises. He also had a penchant for driving very close to my back wheel so I wasn’t about to slow up at all, not that I was going very quickly by then anyway. Maybe he has a thing for women with a backside the size of the Titanic?

As we had tucked in a bit to allow the stupid car driver to overtake, and slowed down, we had lost a lot of momentum gained from the brief downhill beforehand, meaning that now we were not in the right gear or travelling at the right speed to tackle the, now seemingly gargantuan, hill. As car was clearly not going to overtake anytime soon, I decided to just change gear and get on with the job of getting up the hill, stupid car driver is hanging back so he can wait while I go up the hill then, his call. Car followed me up the hill as I slogged up it (I must get fitter as its getting embarrassing all this slogging), my legs were in protest mode but I declined to listen to them and just kept pedalling, I was not getting off and walking under any circs. Eventually car bloke, for it was a bloke in a beemer, decided to overtake giving me little room as there was another bike coming down the hill. Maybe he thought that he could get 2 for 1 on a Friday Cyclists Special or something, but he buggered off into the distance, fluffing his gears as he went – very gratifying and it got me up the rest of the hill.

Kenn, it seems, got off and walked up the hill. I waited at the top for him as he had the money and I figured that we needed some sweeties from the shop after the trauma of the beemer bully boy. Kenn caught up and went in for sweeties and we then cycled the very uneventful 1.5 miles back home again.

Saturday is a day off cycling as our shorts are drying on the line and our legs are tired. We plan to cycle to Church Sunday and from there on to see a friend in Norwich. All in all, it should be a round trip of about 20 miles.

Feeling better about being in lycra though.

 

Today’s ride : 21.5 miles

So far with new challenge: 187.99

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Separated from husband but dating a nice chap at the moment. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dog and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

