Tuesday 3rd April, 2012

Today, inspired by the weather forecast according to my all singing and all dancing phone, we decided to cycle into Norwich for a lunch time appointment with a training provider. Firstly, Kenn dashed into Wymondham as my Giant has a flat back tyre which turned out to be the valve actually coming away so pretty much unfixable.

Tyre put back together and inflated we set off at around noon to Norwich. We took the B1108 – or the Watton Road, as its known at our end and cycled down the nice hill into the village proper and then out again and headed for Colney. There are a couple of gentle uphills until the uphill just before the UEA. I got up without too much of a palava except for praying my way up it as I really didn’t want to get off and walk as there were a lot of people about. Being 48 and looking like a space turnip in black and blue lycra is bad enough but walking!! Not for me today. Kenn did get off and walk after a red light, being carved up by a car and dropping his water bottle, all in the space of 50 yards, brought him to a standstill at the bottom of the hill. No wonder Kenn couldn’t get going again.

Once at the top, we had a lovely ride down the hill, round a couple of roundabouts and into the city. We doglegged across Heigham Road down a bit of Dereham Road, across the lights to the bottom of St Benedicts, along St Benedicts and down Duke Street to the bike park. There was only just enough space to put our bikes in today. It was really full, it must be the weather. Once parked and locked up we went off and did the city stuff that we needed to do.

Having walked about for a couple of hours in the City, we were not looking forward to the ride home. Kenn’s legs ached, my knee was letting me know it was alive and not that well and we were having a big dose of lazyitis which came upon us as we had a coffee. The guy in the coffee place said that it was going to rain, my phone assured me that it was mostly sunny with some clouds. At that moment there was a bit of a shower, which lasted about 10 minutes, we figured that we were not going to get very wet, surely my lovely phone would not lie to us.

Once on our bikes, we cycled along Pottergate, turned left up the hill to the bridge over Grapes hill and on past the RC Cathedral and along Earlham Road to the UEA.  Next time we are going under the tunnel at Pottergate and keep going on to Earlham Road and cut out the uphill bit to the bridge. Going down the big hill near the UEA was a lot nicer than going up it, let me tell you, we just managed 30.2mph down there. Way better than the wobbly 5mph up it. We continued on to the double roundabouts over the A47 and then continuted along the B1108 watching the miles count down by looking at the old milestones to Watton (We are about 13 miles from Watton). The last mile, as per normal, was a bit of a mawl. Its less steep than Dolly Hill in the Highlands but its possibly a bit longer. I found it easier than it has been before, Kenn said that he didn’t struggle as much as he did a couple of weeks ago.

The last 400 yards, down our drive to home, we walked. It seems to be where we collect most of our punctures so we have taken to walking up and down and pushing our bikes. We had just got our bikes into the stable (Yes, our bikes live in a stable cos we don’t have a shed) when the rain came. We had been in our kitchen less than 15 seconds when the rain came down with a vengence. I reckon that we had timed our ride home to perfection. Even the dogs didn’t want to go out in the garden in the rain, bless them.

Miles today: 17.09
Ave Speed : 11.52mph
Top Speed : 30.20

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

