18th May 2012, checking out geocache placements

Milestone Mayhem ride.

I love my Giant, I love my Giant, I love my Giant.
After riding the BSO the other day (another trip on it planned for tomorrow, weather permitting) my Giant is the best bike in the world. Kenn feels the same about his Sun Solo, although he still has not taken that bloomin’ rack off it.

Today we rode from home to Hingham along the B1108. We have noticed the milestones from Norwich counting down the miles from Norwich to Watton. We thought that it would be a great idea for a geocache series and today, we thought that we would recce from home towards Watton (We have had a good look from Norwich to home).

The first mile went brilliantly. We stopped briefly at the milestone and decided where the best place to stick a cache would be. Onwards for another mile and stopped briefly again while we noted another likely cache spot and then on to milestone number 3 where again we stopped for about 30 seconds. Back on the bikes and onwards. We pedalled on for another mile and there was no milestone, nor one on the next mile and once we got to Hingham, we decided to head for home.

The moment we turned we discovered a headwind, that we had not noticed on the way out. When we got moving again – which took a sec as there was a car driving towards us with one wheel on the pavement and one on the road at a bit of a rate, I have to say, we had to reverse to get out of her way – I stopped noticing the headwind quite quickly, then again I was behind Kenn. We did take turns leading though as it seemed only fair. The first couple of miles back went quickly and then I couldn’t find a stride, so to speak. I was really struggling and my calves cramping on the hills really didn’t help. I got to the top of one hill and had to stop for a drink of water and to get my breath as well as stretching out my cramping feet, which had decided to join in the fun that my calves were having. Turns out Kenn was cramping too. Not enough bananas and tomatos in our diet then. Shopping later and I will remedy that one.

We battled home, Kenn led for the last 2 miles and was well ahead of me. I kept thinking of the people on that Biggest Loser programme (caught it the other night at a mates), they are way way way more unfit and fatter than I am and they seem to be doing better than me. Better get pedalling then as I am starting at a much lower weight and a higher fitness level. Shocking though, how unfit I was feeling and how thought that I was suffering over that last mile or two though. Need to do something about it. Kenn seemed to romp home, which is worrying in itself. Good on him though, he did say that he was feeling the pain of the headwind which made me feel a tad better.

Miles today: 12.34
Ave Speed : 12.66 mph
Top Speed : 25.17

Miles towards target 241.7

See, we haven’t even ticked off the first thousand miles yet! Heigh ho. Lets all pray for some nicer weather as we are fair weather cyclists, lets face it.

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

