Oh, those BSOs

21 May 2012

A quick dash from our Mark’s house to the city and back on our old BSO bikes. A monday morning and neither of us were really functioning. We have both been down with a virus and feel shattered so it was a leisurely cycle along the cycle path in. We made better time in than we thought we would, 12:51 for the 1.97 miles. Not quite sure how it was .07 further in than it was last time but we might have taken a different route across the park. Happily, the council have painted a cycle path lane up Duke Street – the wrong way up a one way street. They were probably fed up with cyclists whizzing up the path and past the travel lodge and dodging in and out of the pedestrians.

The way home was not a whole lot better although lovely Norwich council have made it much easier to get out of the cycle park (attached to St Andrews Car Park) with their recent road line repainting. Its much improved in my opinion. Usual way home and cursing my BSO saddle by the time we got back to Mark’s house. I really must sort it out.

Actually, we really could do with a couple of other bikes but these were free to good home and perfect for locking up outside Mark’s place for use as and when. We would not dream of leaving our road bikes locked under the stairs of his flat block. They might be heavy and clunky but they are handy and it saves us lugging the road bikes on and off the car each time we go into the city.

 

28th May 2012

A whole week since our last ride and we have had the most gorgeous weather. We have also had a nice house guest staying with us. A Black ex racing greyhound who we didn’t want to leave so we stayed put with him. We have 2 terriers and a lurcher of our own and they are ok to leave for a couple of hours here and there, hence working part-time but the new boy was an unknown quantity and we didn’t want him to stress out in a new environment.

Usual BSO ride from Mark’s to the city bike park and back, through glorious weather. It was nicer to cycle than to walk as we got the benefit from the breeze. They are hard work though and just shy of 2 miles each way is quite enough, thank you very much. If we could afford better bikes, we might go for them but as I’ve said before, our BSOs were free and we wouldn’t be totally devastated if they got nicked (apart from the brand new tyres which are probably worth more than the bikes). We have to leave them in a non secure place, and although Mark’s place has a pass key operated front door, there is no telling who comes in and out of that flat block.

We will hopefully get out for a quickie tonight on our road bikes, which are just delicious to ride after the BSOs. Its worth having the old tanks to make us appreciate how amazing that road bikes are. Also, I have rejoined Weight Watchers as I am getting fat. It will motivate me as I am with others in the same club. It has certainly motivated me to want to get on my bike tonight.

R

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

