2nd June 2012. Out on my own today

As it was such a lovely day I decided that I was going out on my bike whether or not Kenn fancied going for a ride. As it turned out, he didn’t. He did, however, fetch my bike out and put fresh water in my bottle, that I had lazily left on the bike.

I decided to take my iPod with me as I was on quiet roads and I thought that it would motivate me as I cycled along. Once on my bike, at the top of the drive, I turned on my iPod and discovered that I had the Newsboys on there. Fantastic, great cycling music. I cycled from the end of our drive to the Barham Broom crossroads and took the left turn and headed down to where we walk the dogs. Along a little further which takes me to a T junction at Carlton Forhoe. Left at the T junction and up the hill to Wymondham, or at least Tuttles Lane which skirts Wymondham on our side of it. It took, seemingly, forever to get there. Somewhere along the line my iPod decided that Kim Wilde was the order of the day so I paused briefly and stuck another playlist on. Petra came on. Much better. Big hair, 80’s Christian rock. Marvellous stuff.

Once there, I cycled along Tuttles Lane, and took the left hander towards Wramplingham and whizzed along feeling really good. Certainly much better than I was feeling on the road to Wymondham which is a long slow drag mostly up hill (note to self, must do this more often as my fitness is sorely lacking) Once at the end of the Wramplingham road, I turned left onto our road and a 1.5 mile long drag up to the top of our drive. Happily the Audacious band came on at that point and I fair rocked up that hill and was a bit impressed with myself.

I paused at the top of the drive and had a quick look at my phone and the My Tracks app that I had running on it. Only 40 minutes of cycling and I had planned to stay out for longer. I decided to add on the short 3 and a bit mile Carlton Forhoe loop so I cycled down to the Barnham Broom crossroads again, turned left, cycled along to the T junction at the church but turned right this time, back to our road. That 300 yards was nearly the death of me as its a slight hill and it gave me some problems. Turning right at the end of the road and onto our road some more rocky Petra came on the iPod which got me most of the way home.

I decided to cycle down the drive this time, I don’t always but as it is very dry I can go down the hard flattened grassy area and right to our home. I felt brilliant and my cycling time was just shy of an hour for 11.98 miles. If I had known that I was so close to the 12 mile mark I might have done a quick lap of the car parking area.

I hope to get out tomorrow but the weather looks a bit grim for the next 4 days or so, but I shall do  my best. Maybe without Kenn as he is more of a fair weather rider than I am and that is saying something indeed.  

R

Miles today: 11.98
Top Speed: 25.19
Ave Speed: 12.34
Miles to target: 261.53 

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

