1st – 5th July, 2 for one!

Sunday 1st July.

New month, a good change to get my backside into gear and pretend to be inspired by the Tour. Easy to think about getting on my bike and riding for miles when I’m watching Bradley Wiggins & co., not so easy when life keeps getting in the way.
Today we needed to do water changes on the fish tanks, I really have to finish that sleeve on Kenn’s new jumper, watch a DVD that has to go back tomorrow morning, cook something, give the dogs a decent walk as they do sometimes get a bit of a shortie now and again through the week and I like to make up for things with a really good walk on a Sunday after Church. Then I have to sort the laundry, vacuum the carpets all through, the list is endless it seems. Housework is a Saturday thing as a rule but I had a course to do yesterday so everything got put back a day.

I was planning to get out for a nice 10 miles early this evening but ITV2 decided to show Mamma Mia at tea time and I have never seen it. Kenn was amenable to sitting and watching a chick-flick (actually he loved the film) so watching it seemed more important. During the last ad break I changed into cycling clothing ready to go straight out after the credits. A good plan but the phone rang as I was leaving the kitchen door and it was a booking for tomorrow, which is a good thing but it did put me back about 10 minutes. I decided not to take quite the same route as last night, I did the Barnham Broom loop but without the Carlton Farhoe bit at the beginning. It was only 4.9 miles but it was getting dark  and even with lights, that road is lethal so I belted round before it got dark. I plan to do better tomorrow.

Going past the fields to Barnham Broom was great, there were great big hares bounding about. One of them was nearly as big as Millie, my Parsons Russell and it was really shifting too. No owls tonight though. Lots of rabbits about too.

4.9 miles
Max speed 19.05
Ave speed 12.41

5th July 2012

It was a lovely evening so I set off on my beloved Giant Defy 2 and headed straight down the B1108, up two little hills, over the double roundabouts and headed towards Colney. As I approached Colney, it dawned on me that if I kept going that I would have to pedal up UEA hill and I really didn’t fancy it. I am a rubbish climber having grown up in flatter than flat areas all my life. Anyway, every-time I approach that hill I always get a red light at the bottom of the hill and have to slog my way up it. I decided that today I would swing into the hospital turning, find somewhere to turn around and head back the way that I had come.

Once turned around, I retraced my steps? tracks? whatever and went back over the double roundabouts. 100 yards later I turned right and went on a lovely downhill into Bawburgh, over the river and a left turn, through the village and up the other side which brings me out near Herbie Hyde Hill, at least that’s what we call it. I turned Left there and didn’t go up the hill but headed towards home until I came across a turning to take me to Colton. I cycled through Colton and on towards Barnham Broom. Once there I decided to tag on the little Carlton Forhoe loop and then head home again.

I was astonished to see that I had covered 17.87 miles in an hour and 20. Not far or fast by club rider standards but not too shoddy for me. I had a brilliant ride, my iPod came with me and I loved every second.

17.87 miles
Max speed 26.87
Ave speed 13.37

 

 

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

