23rd July. Into the city at commuting time.

To the City and back for a course! The sun was shining and the weather was just totally gorgeous, too good to waste and I didn’t have to be in business dress for the course. I took nice shorts, a tee shirt and getting clean stuff in a rucksack along with a bloody great lock for my bike.

I took the B1108 and went directly into Norwich, I got through the lights without too much bother in Colney and got up UEA hill without feeling sick or lightheaded, which has got to be an improvement. I really don’t like that hill. Its not just the ‘hilliness of it, its the fact that there are about a million students wandering up and down it at any one time, giggling at middle aged women in lycra.

Once up that blasted hill, I carried on down the Earlham Road, whizzing along and having a great ride. I muttered at a couple of cars that pulled out in front of me totally misjudging the speed of a bike. I nearly got to overtake one but the car driver concerned wasn’t having any of it. Bless him. A dent to his pride perhaps being overtaken by a woman on a push bike.

At the top of Earlham Road, I had to get off and walk over the foot bridge but then back on the bike and cycling down Upper St Giles, and St Giles, down past the Guildhall and along past Jarrolds, Pilches (Please God may I be able to afford that Specialized in the window, or the Bianchi at the bottom of the stairs one day, Amen), up thingy street, to the Open venue.

On to the road proper again and along to King Street where I parked up and locked the bike up outside the King’s Community Church, where the course was being held. Its an amazing venue, it has the church aspect, lots of rooms that people hire for various business functions, meetings etc. It has a great cafe with reasonably priced lunches and lovely tea. Kenn says that the coffee is wonderful.

Having met Kenn for lunch, he took my bike and locked it up at Duke Street for me. After the course, I met up with him at Pilch’s where I got a lovely new cycling short sleeved top for a tenner, reduced from £25 so I was very happy. I got prices for road shoes and new pedals too. I must save my tips for something, after all.
Kenn drove the bike and me, to a meeting with a prospective customer on the Earlham Road, where we had a chat for an hour and discussed her dog walking needs, time, days etc and then I got to cycle home. Getting into my cycling clothes in the front of a Peugeot was a challenge and a giggle. Finally I was fit to ride. Kenn had my bike out for me and the tyres checked and I was good to go. That first little sharp uphill wasn’t that bad though, I must be improving!

Once out on the Earlham Road I headed up the slight hill to the top of UEA hill, down the hill and then up the long rise to the double roundabout. I decided not to carry on up the B1108 as the cars just howl along there and there are a couple of accident blackspots that I thought that I would like to avoid. I went down the hill to Bawburgh and then left through Marlingford and into Barford before rejoining the B1108 and heading home. Great ride but I was feeling it coming through Marlingford. Thank heavens for a good beat coming up the hill to home.

17.65 Miles
Max Speed: 29.1
Ave Speed: 12.87

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

