24th July, City again and a different route.

24th July.

Leaving home to head for part two of that course, I had a lovely ride down the hill to Barford, through the village past the pub and the car hire place and then onwards. Up the first hilly rise with no bother and trying to concentrate on keeping an even cadence and a steady speed. This all went well until the second hill that takes me up to the Bawburgh turning. I thought that I was going to die, my cadence went to pot and I was very concerned that I was going to be overtaken by a dog walker! It all went horribly pear shaped and I briefly considered calling Kenn and getting him to come and fetch me and take me in. Then I told my self off and pulled myself together! I came up with a plan B. Longer but it meant that I could bypass that hated UEA hill, which I would never have made.

Plan B in mind, I turned left and shot down the hill through Bawburgh, up the other side and then turned right and pedaled up Herbie Hill – which actually wasn’t too bad. Over the double roundabouts at the top and then picked up the cycle path all the way down Dereham Road to the Roundwell. Then on the road and I was really cutting along. I could see the road ahead was pretty clear except for one small car, which I actually overtook. The double flash of a camera made me sit up a bit, the car slammed on his anchors and I did much the same. The traffic light ahead was still green and I made the instant decision to turn left and go down Marlpit Lane and then pick up the cycle path and on into Norwich. Much flatter, no roundabouts or main roads.

The Marriotts Way cycle path (cycle path No. 1 for people who are interested) is lovely and  flat but you can’t belt along it at a pace as its full of cyclists of all speeds and abilities, tons of dog walkers, kids and all-sorts of users. Lots of cyclists do whizz along on it, several of them fall off every so often too, getting taken out by kids on skates or loose dogs. I decided that I wasn’t going to be one of them so steadied right up, anyway, I had got a camera to flash so why hurry.

The plan B route was a couple of miles longer but the thought of missing UEA hill made those 2 and a bit extra miles so worth it.
Once in the city I parked my bike at the bike park and then walked to the course. I contemplated cycling home but decided not to as I was feeling really stiff and my shoulder ached for some unknown reason. It might have been the weight of my rucksack on the way in or the fact that at noon, I had added extra weight of a laptop to it. I collected my bike and cycled all the way to Go Outdoors on it. It might have been half a mile but probably no longer, not even worth counting.

11.3 Miles
Max Speed: 40.84 (no wonder I set that 30mph camera off)
Ave Speed: 13.42

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

