29th July, surely it can’t be worse than the last ride.

Carlton Forhoe loop again tonight, in-between heavy rain showers, thunder and lightning. I for one, needed to lay the ghost of the awful ride 2 days ago. We were supposed to go for a longer ride directly after watching the Women’s Olympic Road Race, and feeling most inspired after watching Lizzie Armitstead get a silver medal having been very narrowly beaten in the final sprint my Marianne Vos, we changed into our kit just in time to see the rain bucket down and bounce off the path. We decided not to go out just yet and to have tea instead.
That rain didn’t stop until half eight at night, so we belted out and our planned 10 miler turned into the Carlton Forhoe loop as we could see incoming black clouds again, also the light wasn’t as good as 8.30pm was a couple of weeks ago. Heigh Ho, winter draws on, as my Gran used to say about now.

I tried to concentrate on cadence and keeping a good rythmn going as well as a steady pace plus waiting for Kenn on the uppy bits. My ride was way better than 2 days ago, Kenn’s was horrible. It seems that our rides of 2 days ago were reversed. Kenn caught up to me about 1km from home, I looked behind me and there he was, I nearly fell off the bike as I expected him to be 3 or 4m behind, not right on my wheel. This was at the top of a downhill, which I couldn’t resist. I got up on my pedals and sped (ish) away from Kenn for about 500m or so and then slowed up to wait for him. He caught up at the top of our drive.
We only just got the bikes under cover in time. There were big fat spots of rain and as we got in our door the rain just bucketed down, we could barely hear the tv over the rain noise on the roof (Kenn’s favorite CSI:NY was about to start).

6.01 km
Top speed: 38.74kph
Ave speed: 20.25kph

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

