30th July in the sunshine

Morning bike ride today. 9am in fact. The sun was shining and we had just heard the weather forecast for rain, rain and more rain today so we thought that we had better get a wiggle on if we were going out.

We started off by going on the Carlton Forhoe route, I was feeling pretty good as I had my iPod with me, which always helps. Kenn was going along nicely too. Going down the hill as lovely as per normal, going back up, past Carlton Forehoe church was fine for me but Kenn was having a bit of a struggle. I steadied right up and waited a bit for him and we got to the junction together. As our original plan was to go to Wymondham until Kenn vetoed it half way to the church, he said that his legs were empty so we reverted to plan B. That would be a shorter ride.

At the B1108 junction, I took the decision to go straight over and head into Barnham Broom rather than head home as 6k really is not worth getting my shorts on for. I found the slight rise over the next couple of hundred yards not worth worth commenting on but Kenn was a bit breathy. Once over the top we had a lovely slight downhill to the T junction and then along and up the hill to the post office. We turned right at the post office to the back road where we have turning choices on the way home. The turn from the post office on to that road was horrible. There is a load of loose chippings and sand on the road and it was really nasty to cycle over, especially while turning. The back road can get busy and nobody there seems to respect the 30mph speed limit, its not a turn that you suddenly want to be in a hurry about. Once on the back road we cycled along until the right turn back to the B1108. I asked Kenn if he wanted to carry on or head home from there. He decided that the B1108 was uphill to home from there so we might as well go down to Barford village and then uphill to home from there. Its an uphill ride (not hugely uphill) from either end.

Kenn chose to ride down Back Lane, rather than Cock Street, which I don’t like using as its such a mare to get out of. We turned right from there, onto the Watton Road and cycled up the hill. After about 50 yards, Kenn slowed a bit but I overtook him as I had a good cadence – just for a change – and I wanted to just keep on going. I stopped at the end of our drive and waited for him though.

All in all it was a nice ride. I had a good time, Kenn had a good time and we are looking forward to riding again tomorrow. We had to go to the city today so we popped into Pedal Revolution while we were there and priced up some road shoes and SPD road pedals for me. Kenn had a look at some road bikes and he noticed an ad for a second hand road bike, well within our price range. A Carrerra, which will do him for a summer or two while he is getting fit. If its still available once we have the funds, we will give them a ring. Kenn’s been looking on lots of bike shop sites too, even Gumtree as you never know when  a bike of the right size, condition and price might show up.

10.29 km
Top speed: 31.5kph
Ave speed: 18.85kph
Total 16.3

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

