The rest of June in one foul swoop

Wow, long time no internet, major catching up to do this afternoon then. I wrote a lot of this as I went along but getting online (and remembering to take my lappy with me) is not always easy. There is a whole bunch of rides on this post. Not enough rides, obviously but there are a few.

 

12 June
Went out cycling with Kenn tonight and I felt great, which was a surprise to me as I thought that I would be shattered after last nights ride.
Kenn was having a bad time on his bike tonight and opted to just do the Carlton Forhoe circuit. I left him at the church junction and headed off to Barnham Broom, through the village and then on to Barford, turning at the village hall and heading up the hill to home.

I really do not like that hill. Its our new “Dolly Hill” although I tend to have Audacious on by the time I hit it so I guess that the Barford Cock PH to home hill is called “Audacious Hill”. Much better sounding than calling it ‘that long old drag up the Watton Road’.

6.61
Max 25.19
Ave Speed 12.45

26 June
Back on my BSO for a quick trip from our Mark’s flat to the City and back. That quick pedal up and down the Marriotts Way is a lovely ride. It was really busy today with bikes and pedestrians galore.
After riding my Giant, the BSO is really really slow. The gear changes are clunky beyond belief and its bloody uncomfortable. Happily, we have been gifted a ladies 1980s racer with those funny double brakes, one set on the drops and the other set on the top so you can pull them on when you have your hands on the top of the bars. No hoods or anything fancy. I just need to find some inner-tubes for the tyres as it has 2 flats. Fine for a freebie though, its been sat in ‘our’ shed for 18 months, gathering dust. Landlord said it was finders keepers and the person who used to own it, moved away 18 months ago and has left the country.  Can’t wait to get it sorted, it surely cannot be any worse than my freebie mountain bike .

Anyway, there and back, a massive 4 miles through the sunshine and wondering how many calories there are in mozzies and whether or not I should jot the mozzies down on my food diary.

4.00
Max 18.45 (not sure how or where I managed that!)
Ave 10.43

30th June

Today, I decided that I was entirely fed up with trying to cycle with Ken and went off on my own again. Only a quick ride as I had less than an hour due to other stuff going on in my life.
Having got back from walking our lovely dogs, I dashed in and quickly changed and dashed out again.
For the first time ever, I actually cycled up our drive. I don’t normally as its ever so slightly uphill and its not the smoothest drive ever. I worry about punctures on it. On the 1/4 mile cycle up the drive, I happened to see something large fly past, bigger than our normal Kestrel that lives nearby, and saw that it was a lovely barn owl. He stopped and landed on a nearby pylon and paused there for a few seconds before flying off over the fields towards Watton. There are quite a few barn owls near us, we were watching a pair of them, the other night, as they were hunting over the long grass as it was getting dusk.

Anyway, back to the ride. I only had time for a shortie so decided, once at the road, to hook a left and head for the Carlton Forhoe loop of 3 miles but to add on the Barnham Broom loop and extend it a bit. It was a great ride, hardly any traffic about, everyone must have been indoors watching the tennis. I shot round the Carlton Forhoe bit and was passing the church and heading towards the crossroads almost before I knew it. I headed straight over the crossroads and on towards Barnham Broom. I nearly flew down the road, really happy to be on my bike and cycling along. I had my iPod which helped a lot. I nearly had an accident at the end as I had totally forgotten that there is T Junction there. I did stop and navigate safely over and headed for the village shop, which I zoomed past on a little further. I say zoomed, not zoomed as in Tour de France sort of speeds but zoomed as in an overweight 48 year old who has been too lazy to cycle sort of speeds.

Turning right again, I headed for the main Watton Road junction and then left to home, cycling down the track to our home. My iPod makes a huge difference when I am cycling along alone. Its nice to have the music to keep me company, not so loud that I can’t hear any other vehicles, because I can hear cars etc quite clearly. I love The Newsboys and have their Greatest Hits on my iPod. I love Audacious too, rock that really keeps me spinning along. I must get some new stuff but can’t really afford it right now and I am not going to skint myself just for some new tunes.

5.7 miles
Max speed: 21.28
Ave speed: 12.7

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

