Saturday 4th August

Gorgeous morning, I watched the sun rise at just after 5am, the dogs woke me up wanting to go out for a wee. I suggested going for a ride there and then but Kenn just turned over, pulled the duvet around him and started snoring. I took that as an emphatic ‘no’ and went back to bed myself.

Getting up at a normal hour, the sun was shining and it was a lovely morning but we had to go to work instead. Work consisted of the most beautiful Labradoodle I have seen in years, she was just lovely, and really well behaved. We just got into the car afterwards when it started to rain. Typical. It kept raining and we decided to watch a bit more of the olympics and see how many more gold medals that Team GB were winning. Quite a few as it turned out. We popped online and checked out the weather and it said that it would be dry after 1900 hours so we figured that we would go then.

At 6.30pm, it was lovely and dry, the sun was shining and the black clouds had gone so we assumed that the BBC were running a bit late in their weather forecast and got on our bikes. The plan was for the Wymondham loop, nice and steady. I was having a great ride, Kenn was struggling a bit and once we got up to Tuttles Lane, Kenn wanted to go straight back without going via the town centre. I agreed with him, hopefully its his penultimate day riding his Sun and he will be on a better bike tomorrow teatime and will feel more invigorated. We both enjoyed the ride down through Wramplingham, up the main road and up to our drive where we got off our bikes and walked down it, on account of the state of the drive and the multiple punctures that tend to happen when we ride down it.

Once home, we thought that we had better get busy cleaning the poor bikes after all the puddles that we have ridden through over the last couple of days. We have just bought some Muc Off and decided to give it a go. We normally use some BMW vehicle cleaner and done with (got it free with a Mini, years ago). We followed the instructions and was astonished at how well the bikes came up. My Giant is only a year old so, we were not too amazed at how clean it got with so little effort, but getting that Sun to come up like that was astounding. We have a litre bottle of Muc-off, next time we will buy a 5 litre container. I am going to give it a go on our car tomorrow. Heaven knows it needs a clean, what with all the combine harvesters working away, the car gets covered in dust daily so we’ve left it a couple of weeks and it really needs a good old scub.

After cleaning the bikes we used the after cleaning spray on the bikes and now they look even lovelier. I hope that we don’t get them too filthy tomorrow morning riding to church & back. If we do, we just clean again, I guess.

 

13.94 km
Top speed: 37.84kph
Ave speed: 20.21kph

Total: 87.7 km

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

