Wednesday 8th, into the City

Today we had a plan to cycle to the N&N so Kenn could have his blood test, then into the city for a coffee and then home again. The plan for around 20 miles was helped by a good weather report from the BBC.

The first bit of the ride, from home to the N&N went really well, a quick 9.54km in a brisk (for us) 25 minutes. We slowed towards the end due to a hill and a bus who couldn’t decided which lane he was in, so Mr Bus had both lanes. Riding across the car park to the cycle parking was a bit slower too on account of lots of people in the hospital car park with legs in plaster or being pushed in wheelchairs. We felt that whizzing past was just not polite.

Blood test over nice and quickly for a change. One of the people in the waiting room said to us, in a sneering sort of voice “I suppose you think that you are Bradley Wiggins”. We told them that we actually thought that we were Kenn & Raffie and that we happen to enjoy cycling. Man looked a bit abashed and his wife gave them one of those “I can’t take you anywhere” looks. Once out we went to find our bikes in the bike racks and phoned our pal John to see where he wanted to meet up for a coffee. We decided on Kings Community as they have an excellent cafe and jolly nice cakes, not that we partook of them today.

The run from hospital to Kings was short and sweet and not very quick, despite a lovely long downhill along Earlham Road, then again, we did have to get up UEA hill. Kenn was brilliant up UEA hill and made a good job of it and got all the way up without walking. Its only 6.59km from hospital to city. We did have to get off and walk over the footbridge above Grapes Hill and then steady down Upper St Giles and through the city. We turned off the ‘my tracks’ app at Jarrolds and walked through to the next bit of bikeable road but didn’t bother putting the app back on again.

After a nice coffee and a natter with our friend (who suggested that we got vertically striped cycling jerseys and we immediately thought pots and kettles as we are both considerably thinner than he is), we all walked, while pushing our bikes, to Pilch’s so Kenn could get some shoe advice while John & I looked at bikes, cycling jerseys and Tiagra levers. We took our leave of John there and we cycled down to Brantano for some desperately needed new trainers for me as mine are falling to bits. I’ve sewn them up twice but they really have to go in the bin now. Trainers found, we then cycled to Halfords as we were told that they were doing their own cycling shoe and that they were pretty good so we went for a look-see. Our branch don’t do them. London is definitely too far to go and look.

Time for home, so we set the My Tracks back on and headed up the Cycle path No.1 and cycled along to Marlpit Lane, up the hill (Kenn felt the need to walk the last 10 yards) then turned right onto Dereham Road and cycled up to the Bowthorpe rooundabout where we turned left and headed along to Colney and towards the hospital again. We had both forgotten about the short sharp 9.5% hill just after the traffic lights but apart from that, the ride was nice and undulating.

Kenn said that he was really struggling, he got a bit a bit of a breather when his chain dropped off. His bike needs a service, me thinks. Actually it wouldn’t hurt my bike either. I think that he should have bought an energy bar or a gel when we were in Pilch’s. I forgot to mention it so I am as much to blame. Kenn definitely bonked, bless him. We had discussed going home via Wymondham but Kenn said that he couldn’t so that was that. It is his first proper ride on his new bike so I don’t mind which way home we took It was good to get home, that last stretch was 17.97km. Our total trip today, in miles was 21.19 so our plan of 20 miles was met and slightly exceeded so its all good.

Planning on a quick hop to Wymondham and back tomorrow. Next long ride is planned for Sunday, which I am looking forward to. Our weight is coming down, we think. We don’t actually have scales here but we measured instead (chest, waist, hips, thigh, upper arm) and I have lost 4.25 inches in this last week so I surmise that I am probably lighter too. not sure about Kenn, I don’t think that he measured last week as suggested to him. Hopefully he will measure this week and then he will be able to see the improvement that getting back on his bike is having on him.

R

 

34.1  km
Top speed: 42.34 kph
Ave speed: 20.45 kph

Total: 176.67 km

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Separated from husband but dating a nice chap at the moment. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dog and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

