Friday 17th August, Just Raffie today

Kenn was not up for a ride today. He had his biopsy Wednesday, we had yesterday off riding but I wanted to ride today, Kenn was still feeling bruised and in an un-cycling mood.

I decided that I was going to mix my ride up a bit and go somewhere a bit different without a specific distance in mind. I wanted to try and concentrate on a 70 rpm cadence.

I went up the B1108, as per, and then took the 2nd turning to Barnham Broom as if to go on the BB route. At the post office, instead of turning right and heading down to Barford, I went straight over and headed for the golf course, I rode past the golf course and then turned right towards Colton. I wasn’t feeling my best, it felt like really hard work so I found some ‘up’ music on my iPod and got on with my ride. Its always like this the day after a rest day. I felt really bloated too, which was not helpful.

The turning to Colton might have been a bad idea. There was a short 5.3% hill there, nothing to get very excited about, but I had real issues getting up the hill. I was in granny gear and struggling. It crossed my mind to get off and walk but I managed to keep going and got to the top, gasping like a mad thing. I carried on, past the church and at the Church Lane crossroads decided to go straight over, rather than right and then head home along Barford Road, which is the shorter route and more sensible bearing in mind that I was having a right struggle. However, there is a nasty short hill, just like the one that I had struggled up, just after the little bridge over the river/stream where our dogs like to swim. I decided that longer rather than that short climb was the way to go. Not that I knew if there were any hills that route but figured it was worth the risk.

The road I took takes me towards Marlingford and from there I took the ‘back road’ past the Caravan Club site, the Bell PH and the Village Hall home. Here I had a quick peep at my ‘My Tracks’ app on my phone and saw that I had covered 7 1/4 miles so decided to cycle to Barnham Broom and then to home, to bring my mileage up to a nice round 10 miles. I had forgotten that I normally ride on this road, in the other direction and its a nice gentle downhill,  obviously today I was going up the gentle hill. It wasn’t as bad as I thought that it might be, feeling tired and bloated as I was, I kept concentrating on keeping a nice 70rpm cadence (there or thereabouts as I don’t have a cadence counter as my bike computer has died). I was pretty glad to see the turning for home, going along that bit of road was not too bad, going home on that short bit of the B1108 was good, I was making a steady cadence and speed up the slope towards home and was feeling good.

Still not sure about that Proline seat though. I am going to stick my Giant seat back on. Kenn has discovered that he can alter the angle of the seat so he is welcome to his Sella Italia Proline. It might be a £90 seat but its bloody uncomfortable as far as my bum is concerned. It makes me sore, sore is not good and I am not sitting on that thing for 57 miles or so on the 8th September. I reckon that we are getting fitter though.

R

Ride    17.09 km
Max    48.73 kph
Ave    21.88 kph
Time    46.52

Total 291.19 km

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

