Sunday 12th August

We decided to have a longer ride today, as we have the weather to do it with. After getting soaked on long ride day last week, we were hoping for a better day and that is exactly what we got. I planned for 30 miles today, not that I told Kenn that or he wouldn’t have gone out of the front door. Much better to tell him after the fact. Better to seek forgiveness than ask for permission and be refused it, has worked for me for years. I see no reason that it wouldn’t work in cycling.

We left ours and headed off to Barnham Broom, we stopped at the post office and sorted Kenn’s seat out as he had taken off the Proline and put on his old seat from his Sun as its more comfy. He put the proline on my bike, I noticed the difference immediately as its way harder than my Giant seat. After another mile, we stopped and adjusted my seat and after another couple of miles we adjusted it again, followed by yet another adjust a couple of miles later. My word, for a £90 seat, its bloody uncomfortable. Maybe I just don’t have a Sella Italia arse! Kenn said that his seat felt tipped forward but it looked ok. My seat felt more tipped forward than my Giant seat but, although it was hard on the seat bones, it was better on my lady bits. I might make the effort to get used to the seat as its much better for my bits than the Giant seat. Then again, I might not. Ken might have it back and I will look for something else.

After messing about from Barnham Broom to Mattishall, we finally got going again and pedaled along to Yaxham and we were at the Mustard Pot at Whinburgh, for a cup of coffee, in no time, or so it seemed. We had planned lunch here but it was too early and the prices!! I don’t think so. We had a look at the map over coffee (£2.20 for squitty little cup of black coffee). We pushed on to Hingham via Reymerston and had lunch there at the bisto place opposite the church. Still quite pricey but our 2 meals & coffees cost the same as one meal on the specials board at the Mustard Pot.
We had a good old look at the map again and decided to head on towards Gt Ellingham and then to Morley St Botolph. Kenn led the way and we didn’t so much take a wrong turn as fail totally to take the correct one and kept on down some B road or other until we arrived at Attleborough. We decided that the A11 was probably a bad idea so we went through Attleborough, under the A11, along a while and then back over the A11 on a nice handy road bridge and into Besthorpe. From there we headed straight into Wymondham and home via Wramplingham.

We had to stop in Wymondham to pump up my back tyre and then again on the Wramplingham road to change the innertube as there was a miniscule bit of glass in there. I was behind Kenn and yelled and yelled and yelled to him to stop. Kenn waved merrily and disappeared into the distance. I yelled some more, possibly calling his parentage into question as he had the pump. I had everything I needed to fix the puncture except for the pump. Kenn eventually came back and the puncture was fixed and we were on our way again. By this time I was swearing about the bike seat and wondering if I could use the Italia Proline as a firelighter as the thought of setting fire to the damned thing was keeping me going. My bum hurts. Curiously, my wrists hurt too. Must be the slightly different seat position. I am seriously thinking of paying the nice people at Pedal Revolution and taking advantage of their individual bike setting up service. For £25, I reckon its well worth it. I will wait until I get my road shoes and new pedals and get everything sorted and straightened out at the same time.

Not a bad ride in the end. Kenn definitely felt tired coming towards Hingham but was better after lunch, then bonked again by Wymondham. I need to start carrying energy bars for him as his stamina is non existent. I am hoping that his level of fitness will improve as he carries on cycling and that he won’t give up before he does improve.

Ride    51.5 km
Max    38.7 kph
Ave    19.63kph
Time    2:37.23

Total: 246.62 km

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

