27th August, Bank Holiday Monday

Today we are off to Mildenhall Bike Rally and we are very much looking forward to it. I am just back from a quick ride of 9 miles and blogging before a quick bath and then off to collect our mate Mark and his dog Bouncer. We thought that he would like a day out. Mark is currently car less so can’t really get about much. I woke up at 0650 and felt the need to get out and enjoy the sunshine while the sun was still actually shining. Bank holiday monday and all that!

Our plan at Mildenhall is to find new cycling shoes for us both, SPD pedals for me and new cleats for Kenn as he has pedals but no cleats or shoes. We need these on and we need to get adept at using them before the Tour of Britain Challenge ride on 8th September. Gt Yarmouth to the Norfolk Showground is not too far we think. Also, we will see if we can get a bit of sponsorship to raise money for Kidney Research as Kenn has his transplanted kidney and its a cause that is close to our hearts.

Anyway, today’s ride. I basically cycled (alone, Kenn stayed under the duvet until the dogs forced him out) on the Barnham Broom Road, past Carleton Forehoe church to Wymondham, along Tuttles Lane, down the Melton Road, past our usual Wramplingham turn off and kept going until Pockthorpe Road and headed home that way.

I was making good time and had a lovely ride. There seemed to be lots of squirrels with a death wish, dashing out in front of me left, right and centre. There was an awful lot of young pheasants, with no road sense, about. They do like to leave it until the last possible second before flying off. What is it with pheasants that they feel the need to run like buggery in a straight line down the road in front of you before veering off to one side, veering back and then flying off. That all seems like a lot of energy to use instead of just hopping in to a bush to hide up. Silly things.

Anyway, I am now off to Mildenhall. Shoe hunting. Probably going to be an expensive day. Ho hum.

R

Ride:         14.5 km
Top Speed:     36.04 kph
Ave Speed:    21.19kph
Total Elevation    99 m

Total        417.65 km

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

