28th August, a nice sunny Tuesday

I love this being self employed malarkey. So the phone isn’t ringing but as we now have enough to live on and to get nice bike stuff, life is good. As we have got fitter, the dogs have got more exercise than before so everyone is happy.

Today we had no work booked in so we decided that as we needed to have a chat with the council that we would simply ride there and back to see them. Only 55km there and back. Possibly a little further as my phone decided to have a ‘funny’ along the way somewhere and my bike computer says 58.5km in total. The phone also said that I have averaged about 6mph, I would still be out cycling if that were true. My bike computer says 11.9, which is bloody slow but Kenn bonked over the last 1/3 of the ride so we took hours coming home.

Today is our first clipless day and it was brilliant. That first little rise to the Carleton Forehoe turning was virtually unnoticed by us, going up the hill into Wymondham was a breeze we then headed off across country to Long Stratton where we sat around in the council offices for 30 minutes or so before heading home. I reckon that it was the sitting about that did for Kenn. He was fine before we stopped. Actually before we arrived at Wymondham, we had a quick stop on the side of the road and fettled a bit. Both our seats needed to be raised half an inch and my pedals were a bit looser than I would have liked. They were super easy to get my feet out but they didn’t feel very positive when I clicked my cleats in to them. Once sorted they were much better.

We did have a small incident with a very impatient woman on a wide bit of road. In the highway code, rule 66 clearly states that:

  • never ride more than two abreast, and ride in single file on narrow or busy roads and when riding round bends.

We were two abreast on a wide road, dead straight and it wasn’t busy. She flew up behind us with her horn blaring out, then overtook giving Kenn a hairs breadth of room then dived in front and slammed on her anchors. She then quickly turned right into her drive. We must have slowed her up for all of two seconds. She must either have been desperate for the toilet or she really has some anger issues as her driving was a total over-reaction. I wonder what she was like if she overtook the family that we had overtaken some 400 yards earlier. Probably put the fear of God into those kids. Looked like a middle aged woman in a very large Mercedes. I have long held the belief of ‘Where there’s a Merc, there’s a berk’ and today it held true.

Riding to Long Stratton is a really nice ride, I will happily do this again. We did miss a turning and arrived at the A140 road, which we decided not to ride along as it was chokka with big lorries and the like. We retraced our steps for 1/4 mile and found a nice turning to Stratton St Michael which brought us out still at the A140 but much closer to our turning so we only had to ride down the hill to the lights and then turn right to the council offices. Once out of the offices, we continuted along that same road and up the hill and on towards Forncett St Mary then Tacolneston and then onto Wymondham via Fundenhall. It was a great ride. When we got to Wymondham, Kenn was definitely stuggling despite having gels and an energy bar on the ride. We rode down Melton Road and turned at the Pockthorpe Road and back on to the B1108 that way and then cycled up the hill to home. We had a bit of a disaster, sun glasses wise en route. Kenn stuck his shades into his helmet while he was map reading and they fell off his helmet and smashed into about 8 bits on the tarmac below him. We will go and get him some new ones in a while. He will need them before his next ride. Men are just so expensive to run.

Kenn says that his feet hurt a bit. His feet are very wide and he had sports socks on, which are quite thick. I reckon that he would be better with thinner socks on. Also a bit of a nail trim probably wouldn’t go amiss either. I did point out that this is our last long ride until the 8th September when we will be cycling 57 miles so he needs to sort his shoes out. New shoes are always a bit harsh on the feet first time in action. I remember what my hikers were like for the first few wears. My shoes were lovely.

Maybe a quick 11 miles or so tomorrow, Wymondham and back perhaps.

R

Ride:         58.5 km
Top Speed:     42.34 kph
Ave Speed:    19.15
Total Elevation    452 m

Total        476.15 km

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

