Bank Holiday Shopping at the Cycle Rally

Well that was fun.

We set off, collected Mark &  his dog, Bouncer, and headed off to the Mildenhall Cycle Club Rally. On the way, Mark told us about a Geocache near to the rally at the Market Cross in the town centre and about a Geocaching event nearby. We thought that it sounded excellent. We didn’t have our GPS but Mark had his, and a pen so we were set.

Once at Mildenhall, and having been directed to the cricket club for parking purposes as the rally parking was full to bursting, we went in and had a good look about and quickly realised that nobody took switch cards and dispatched Kenn to the nearest cash point. It must have been close as he was back in 15 minutes flat. We found the stall/marquee for The Cycle Shack, a LBS in Diss and went shoe and pedal hunting.

We were astounded to find SPD pedals for £20 a pair there, so we grabbed the last 2 sets of pedals right quick. I found a pair of Lake road shoes at a special reduced show price for £29.99, they are super comfy and a great fit. Kenn found a pair of Serfas touring shoes at £49.99 so he was made up. As we had a budget of £200 for shoes and pedals, and we were charged £115 for all of ours (the lovely Cycle Shack lady gave us a £5 discount) we knew we could afford to get other things that were on our ‘must get’ list.

We hunted on a bit and found me a brand new Bell helmet, as my helmet is having lots of issues, for a show price of £25. My old helmet keeps changing its mind about the size it wants to be. It starts off fine but then I have to twiddle the knob every 5 km or so as it gets looser. Really irritating. Its been doing it for about a fortnight now. However, at home when I try to show Kenn what it does, it won’t go looser. Fine when you pull it but not when cycling. Must be a vibration thing. Anyway, new helmet now and I am really chuffed with it. I had a Bell helmet before my current one, it was great. I replaced it as it was old and knackered.

Kenn then noticed cycle computers for £3 each. He reasoned that they were probably a bit pants but worth a try. My poshy-nobby cycle computer was always a bit iffy. When we replaced the battery, it packed up altogether. Stupid thing. Kenn figured at £3 each, he was willing to take a chance. They were old stock and have been superceeded by the next model and the guy was getting rid. We also got a new bidon from him, with 2 x gels and 2 x energy bars in. My new bidon, that we bought last week, is horrible and is going to be demoted to the dog walking bottle.

We then had a quick ice-cream break and then went to look at some clothing. We both have new bib shorts but we could do with a jersey each. Something heavier weight than we have now, for winter. Not a coat though, we have our waterproof cycling jackets and they are great in the rain. Not windproof though. I found a nice red and black top, reduced to £25, so I was chuffed. Kenn said that the measurements were definitely on the small side. He found a nice XXL but it was too tight across his chest. We then found a XXXL which fitted fine but its price tag, even at 50% show discount, was £125 and I don’t really want to pay that at this time. Kenn will have to keep searching for a bit.

We ended up spending less than £175 for everything, not including £4 for 3 x 99s. Even with diesel, we were just under budget so we are both chuffed to bits.

Mark & I then walked our dogs (I took Millie with us, Mark took his husky x called Bouncer) round to the Market Cross, found the geocache and went back to where Kenn was parked and having a snooze. After that we drove to the geocaching event and signed the log there. Kenn decided that he was wiped out, so parked the car in some shade and went to sleep for a couple of hours while Mark, Millie, Bouncer & I went off caching and found all 14 event caches. We had a great time. Kenn woke up as we were heading to the penultimate cache and it was Kenn who spotted it (sneaky hide that was) and then Kenn found the final hide. We wandered off and chatted to some other cachers who were still around at the event site and then toddled off home.

It dawned on me, on the way home, that I had eaten a humbug mint and a 99 ice cream all day, I was starting to feel a tad wobbly. We dropped Mark off and went and got a chinese take away. It was pretty good, best of all, there wasn’t too much. Some Chinese food places overload a set meal for 2, but this was just nice. Chinese take away on Mile Cross roundabout if you are interested. Nice food, the prawn chop suey was very tasty.

I had better do my long ride tomorrow (Tuesday) to work off the take away. I wonder how many miles it is to pedal off a Chinese take-away. Better walk the dogs first though.

R

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

