Tues 4th September. 4 More Sleeps

Just a shortie today. We were going to do the same ride as yesterday but work and other stuff got in the way.

Today we just cycled the Carleton Forehoe/Barnham Broom/Barford loop and done with. Kenn’s bike seems to have stopped making noises after Kenn cleaned and oiled the whole bottom bracket area. I reckon that it was the rain the other day and the fact that he was soaked to the skin so didn’t get out in good time to clean his bike. Like I can shout, but then my Giant doesn’t make hideous noises.

Kenn had clinic today and he has lost another 1.5kg, which is just fantastic. He is now under 100kg and we are both thrilled. Clinic not such wonderful news as his transplanted kidney is mucking about but the doc is pleased that Kenn is cycling. The doc is booking Kenn in for surgery to make a new fistula in his arm just in case Kenn needs to go back on dialysis. This is one of the reasons that we try to raise some money for Kidney Research UK. Hopefully this will not be the case, the dialysis thing, because 9 months of that was a nightmare before the transplant. Sadly, having given Kenn one of my kidneys, I am now out of spares. Today has not been the most wonderful of days.

However, 4 more sleeps to the Tour of Britain Challenge ride. Feeling more confident by the day.
R

Ride:         10.89 km
Total        560.66 km

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

