Wednesday 5th September 3 more sleeps to go.

We are getting closer to the event on Saturday and we are both feeling really excited. Since setting up our Just Giving page, we have had an email from Kidney Research UK thanking us for setting up the site and asking if we would like a fundraising pack, including a tee shirt each. We said that we would love a pack and thanked the lady who emailed us as we really didn’t have a clue who to ring and ask about a fundraising pack. Piccies of us in our tee shirts will grace this blog very soon.

Kenn was out in the city today and I was home, so I thought that I would give the bikes a good clean. They are not filthy, you understand, but they did need a bit of a wipe down. During the cleaning, I noticed that my rear cassette looked like it had a lot more cog teeth than Kenn’s cassette. Upon counting, my cassette which is an GH50 has 12 – 25 teeth. Kenn’s cassette is 12-23 teeth and he wondered if, because my largest gear has a couple more teeth on, it was the reason that I get up hills a bit better than he does. I told him its because I am a better rider than him :-). I did suggest that we swapped cassettes to see if my cassette would help him climb a bit better. Kenn thought it might be a plan so we switched the wheel sets out. I now have Mavic Aksium wheels & Kenn’s cassette, Kenn is riding on my Giant SR2 wheels and my cassette. He seems happier and I can’t say that I really noticed the difference in the cassettes when climbing.

We meant to have a quick ride today. We rode to Barnham Broom golf course, turned right as if to follow the route for the Tour of Britain Challenge Ride, got up the first little hill well and then went down the hill afterwards and I had just sorted my gears out for ‘that’ hill, my bogey hill that always leaves me breathless and gasping for a drink, when 2 pensioners wandered into my path. Who knew that 2 pensioners out walking needed quite that much room. I had to actually stop dead to avoid them, followed by Kenn stopping dead too. At the bottom of the hill. J0y of joys! That little hill (7.2%) to Colton is always tricky for us and having to ride up it from stationary was a new thing for both of us. We did get up though and Kenn said that it was easier with the Giant Cassette on.

After the hill we rode along some more, turned right then left at the junction, instead of left and following the challenge ride route as we didn’t really want to do more than about 8 miles tonight. We came out on the Barford Road at Marlingford. We went straight over the junction and came round by the mill (very pretty in the evening light) and slowed right down for a family of ducks and their youngsters. We crossed straight over the B1108 and headed up the Melton Road there towards Wymondham and then turned down the road towards Wramplingham before heading home, the usual way up Watton Road hill. Somewhere along the route, I regretted not digging out my short sleeved cycling jersey and opting for the easy option of my long sleeved jacket jersey instead (with all its Dutch advertising on it). I was boiling and I had to peel it off at the end of the ride. Disgusting!

Kenn is sure that the cassette that was on the Giant Defy is easier. I am not convinced that his cassette is any harder to cycle in. Having counted the teeth, I am doubly sure that the cassette from my bike is no easier, but Kenn is happier cycling on that cassette. If it gives him confidence up hills, which it seems too, its fine by me.

Rest day tomorrow, then gentle, short ride on Friday morning before work. The weather forecast is excellent for Saturday so we are doubly looking forward to the ride.

 

Ride:         21.45 km
Max :        43.24 kph
Ave:         20.49 kph
elevation: 100m

Total        582.11 km

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

