Back on the bike, a day later than planned

Yesterday was supposed to be a cycling day but it rained. Proper rain, mind you. Not just a shower but stair-rods and even the terriers refused to go out in it. The Greyhounds refuse to go outside in even the lightest drizzle, it takes real rain, the rain that hurts when it lands on you, to get the terriers to wimp out.  If Millie & Poco won’t set foot outside, I reckon that its a ‘non riding’ day.

I planned to take Monday off riding, just as well really as I ached a lot. I was fine on Sunday but Monday was hard. I walk (and groom) dogs for a living and that brisk hours walk that I do with a couple of Collies nearly did for me. Kenn wasn’t much better. I had sort of planned a ride on Tuesday but work got a bit stupid and I had to go and collect some keys from a new dog walking customer so it was 7.30pm when I got home. I got to see Cav win a stage of the Tour of Britain and then walk our own dogs in the pitch black darkness that we have out here in the sticks. Actually it was great as the dogs have lights on their collars and it was their first use this year and we could see these lights bobbing about in the field, moving at quite a pace. This brought us to yesterday – see first paragraph – and on to today.

Collie walking today, as usual but home at a vaguely reasonable time. I am self employed so I get some cycling time but this week with feeling groggy in the mornings and getting back late, work has been getting in the way of riding my bike. Need to have a look at the diary and sort this out. Also need some new bike lights. I was looking at a web page by Torchy The Battery Boy and his bike light database and have pretty much picked out new lights. More soon when I source them. Hopefully next week.

Anyway today’s ride. Not a long one as the light was in danger of failing (should have got home earlier but we went to Mark’s house for a coffee & a muffin). Kenn changed his innertube as his rear tyre was flat, even though it hasn’t been ridden since Saturday. Must be a tyre fairy on the farm somewhere as the car had a flat at the weekend too. We cycled the Carlton Forehoe loop, then headed for Barnham Broom and paused for a second or two at the post office while we decided to take in Colton or Barford. We decided on Barford as the light was indeed starting to dim. We do have lights on our bike but they are not great. People can see us but we can’t see much. Also we didn’t have our reflector tops on (naughty Kenn & Raffie). We headed down to Barford, cut up Back Lane to the Watton Road and then did whatever the cycle version of a scamper is, up the hill to the top of our drive. The hill was easy. Even Kenn said that it was the best ride up that hill that he had ever done. I reckon that it was a 65 mile ride and then 3 days off so his legs were ready for a good pedal.

Tomorrow, we should be home at a better time and would like to do a quick 10 – 12 miler. Saturday is a mad work day. We don’t often work on Saturdays but this is one of the rare work Saturdays. I would have rather gone for a bike ride but that’s life. We plan a longish ride on Sunday though. To church, then an hours rest and then perhaps a circular route to Whittlingham and home via the back roads and Wymondham. Still working out a route though.

Today’s ride     9.89 km
Ave Speed       19.42 kph
Top Speed        32.4  kph
Total dist       718.05 km

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

