Quick whizz round before Doctor Who starts

I really really meant to ride yesterday but Kenn wasn’t motivated at all, work was all over the place and we took the dogs for a long walk.

I finished work today and was home by 4pm and tried to get Kenn out for a ride but nothing doing. I mucked about online for an hour or so but by 5.45 it was very apparent that Kenn was playing facebook and watching rubbish on the TV so I went off by myself.

I figured that about an hour would do so headed off towards Barnham Broom and then turned left at the post office and went down the hill and over the bridge and up that little hill towards Welborne and kept on that road until Mattishall. From Mattishall church, I followed the route of the Tour of Britain Challenge ride and enjoyed the ride this time. I wasn’t nearly so knackered as I was last week and gently spun my pedals in the evening sun. I really enjoyed the hill down to Barnham Broom Golf Course and hooked a left past it, as per last week. I quickly pedaled up the first of the 2 hills there and stopped at the top.

That next hill is a real problem for me and I was in no mood to be beaten by it tonight. I had a plan. This plan involved turning on my iPod and finding some rock to get me up the hill. I know I can get up this hill, I’ve got up it before. Last week was a freak of non climbing. I am not a good hill climber at the best of times and this hill is only little in the grand scheme of things. This week I only had 10 miles of riding in my legs too. I found My Sharona, by The Knack, a tune that has got me up many a hill whether running or cycling, so I had no doubt of its hill climbing ability. Track on, ear plug in and away my Giant and I went. I still have Kenn’s cassette and wheels on so I’m a couple of teeth shy on my biggest cog there but I was determined that I was getting up (its so much easier with my cassette on). I got to the point where my legs say ‘nope, stuff you we are not going up’ and figured that its only a few metres left so it can only be 10 revolutions. I counted 5 revolutions, then 5 more and we were still not up. Counted another 5 plus yet another 5 revolutions and we were up. 20 revolutions then. Not 10. Who cares, we were up and pedaling along the slight rise gently while I got my breath back. Good job there was nobody listening, they might have called 999 thinking I was having an asthma attack.

From there I headed to the cross roads where I would have turned left if I had had more time but I doglegged right then left and headed for Marlingford, rather than take the short route to Barford as there is another nasty hill and I wasn’t in the mood for another one just then. I rode past where we come out of the footpath when we walk the dogs there, up to a junction and went to the right. I bombed down the hill and turned right again at the Marlingford Crossroads. From there I rode to Barford, up Cock Street to the B1108 and home.

In Barford, I bought half a dozen eggs and managed to stuff them into the back of my bib shorts and rode oh so gently from then on. Getting up the hill, concentrating on smooth and gentle riding, rather than getting up and getting it over and done with seems to work a treat. I shall remember that next time.

Longer ride tomorrow. Like my plans ever come to anything.

R

 

Today’s ride     21.56 km
Ave Speed       22.25 kph
Top Speed        45.32  kph
Total dist       739.61 km

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

