A ride of firsts

Good ride today. It was nearly a non starter as Kenn’s back wheel had another flat. I reckon that Giant tyres are made out of cheese as that rear wheel has gone through more inner tubes than a few. We keep patching, then replacing but 2 punctures in 3 days is just showing off. Its not even hedge trimming time here. We quickly put a new tube in, pumped it up and went off for a ride.

It was a bit chilly this evening so we put our long cycling trousers on, for the first time this autumn. I think that they have shrunk in the cupboard since the last time I wore them. Kenn’s have shrunk too 😦 We have both been out in our long sleeved tops as it was a cooler day but we’ve always been able to have our shorts on – which have left us with very attractive stripey tans.

Anyway, shivering up the road, we headed for Carlton Forehoe and then on to Wymondham. I was not enjoying myself at all and was all for turning round, heading home and taking the car to Wymondham to pick up a prescription. Kenn was well ahead and oblivious to me calling to him, so on I cycled. By the time I got to Wymondham, I was feeling a lot better. Kenn was making good time for someone who was not in a hurry. The hills didn’t seem to be an issue today either. Very odd.

At the doctor’s, Kenn put his prescription into the pharmacy to be told that there was a 20 minute wait. Kenn came out and suggested a ride about while we waited. Better than standing around getting cold anyway. We cycled back the way we had come, past the station, under the rail bridge and turned left into Rightup Road and cycled to the end and back. We had a brief stop to eat some blackberrys and then headed back to the pharmacy. Kenn only had to wait a couple of mins to pick up his meds (they only had half of them so we have to go back tomorrow).

From there we headed home on our usual route down Tuttles lane and turn off at Melton Road. Kenn was having some bike issues and stopped to have a look. It turned out that he has lost a cleat screw. He put his cleat in the right position and tightened the remaining screw and carried on. Half way down Pockthorpe Road there was a definite clicking sound coming from Kenn’s feet so we stopped again and Kenn discovered that the cleat was no longer attached to his shoe. We figured that it couldn’t have gone far and we were right. It was stuck in the pedal.  Happily I had my bike tool thingy with me (as I always do) and he was able to flick the cleat out. This is where the whole thing flew apart and we spent the next few minutes searching for the screw, the little plate thing and the cleat itself. Definitely a first for us, scrabbling around in the grass in a lay by. It was all soon found and put back on Kenn’s shoe and off we went again, steadily though.

We had a lovely whizz down the hill to the Watton Road and then cycled up it again to home. It was a great ride though and a bit of a laugh to boot. It took us longer than expected due to sitting on the ground sorting out the cleat, waiting for a script and sitting forever at the roundabout, but a good ride all the same.

Same again tomorrow then, we have to go back for the rest of Kenn’s meds.

R

Today’s Ride:                     14.78 miles
Max Speed:                         24.07 mph
Ave Speed:                         11.60 mph

Sept Distance:                    145.99
Total Distance:                  849.24

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

