Clipless Moment! DOH!

 

After a couple of days off due to both of us having upset tums we were back on our bikes tonight.

We needed to pop to the bank to draw the rent money out of the bank and we had been meaning to go all afternoon but got sidetracked by walking the dogs for an hour or so, then by doing some cooking so it was 6pm by the time that we got on our bikes. Kenn had remembered to fix his cleat too, which took up another 10 minutes of our afternoon.

Eventually we jumped on our bikes and headed for Wymondham via our usual route. We got to the bank hole in the wall thingy and got the rent money and then, as we were on a one way street, we went the correct way down the street and decided, for once, to go home the way we came. Its not something we often do as its so dull. We much prefer a circular ride.

We got to the corner and Kenn said to stop as he wanted to look at our mini-statement from the bank, which he did but as he turned his bike to then face the right way again, the bike just fell over. He simply couldn’t get his feet off his pedals fast enough and hit the deck with a heck of a bang. Naturally, I couldn’t unclip fast enough to get to him and by the time I had, a taxi driver (or possibly a fast food delivery driver) had stopped his car, got out and dashed to Kenn’s aid. I was mightily impressed with his turn of foot. He helped Kenn up while I grabbed the bike (wondering if I have my priorities in the right order there). Another man got out of his car and offered the use of his first aid kit, which was very kind of him. Kenn said that he was fine, embarrassed but fine. The second chap said that he had just got his daughter a video camera for her birthday but that she couldn’t turn it on in time. Thank heavens for small mercys, I say. Just what Kenn needs, a video of himself sprawled on the floor, out side the dress shop in Wymondham pasted all over youtube. Or even on that Beadle show (I know that Beadle has died but I cannot remember the name of the programme as I don’t watch it).

Once Kenn had picked himself up and dusted himself down, he was back on the bike (he walked it round to facing in the right direction this time) and heading for home. We had gone less than 50 yards when he yelled at me to stop and go back to him, which I did, to find that he had given his derailleur a knock and it was fouling his spokes. He had a bit of a fettle there and then but as the light was fading, he found that if he stayed in small ring that the derailleur was not fouling the spokes so that is how we rode home. We still made decent time as our lights are not the best. They are very visible to other vehicles but virtually useless for actually seeing where we are going. We did get back with plenty of light, just before the gloaming arrived but going through the ‘tree tunnel’ on the Barnham Broom Road was a bit dim and dark.

Kenn brought his bike directly into the living room and has sorted it out. It was just knocked out of its usual adjustment and seems fine now. Good oh as I fancy a ride to Dereham or Whittlingham tommorrow.

Thank you to Deep Burn for telling me how to stick a map of my ride on my blog. I really appreciate it as I am a real luddite. I’ve only just got to grips with my smartphone. To think that I used to be a network engineer at a large and well known ISP. It goes to show, ‘use it or lose it’ rings very true in my case.

R

 

Today’s Ride:                     9.78 miles
Max Speed:                         23.51 mph
Ave Speed:                         12.59mph

Sept Distance:                    154.99
Total Distance:                  858.24

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

